Bill Text: TX HR2 | 2013 | 83rd Legislature 3rd Special Session | Enrolled

Bill Title: Congratulating Torres Garage of Robstown on 92 years of operation.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 1-0)

Status: (Passed) 2013-08-06 - Reported enrolled [HR2 Detail]

Download: Texas-2013-HR2-Enrolled.html
  H.R. No. 2
         WHEREAS, Family-owned businesses that are passed down
  through the generations contribute to the quality of life in
  communities across Texas, and Torres Garage of Robstown, which has
  been in continuous operation for 92 years, is a true Lone Star
  success story; and
         WHEREAS, Torres Garage was founded in Brownsville in 1921 by
  Elias Torres; he later passed the business down to his son, Balde
  Torres, who moved the shop from Brownsville to West Avenue B in
  Robstown in 1971; and
         WHEREAS, The business relocated to its current address on
  Western Avenue in the early 1980s, and since 2007, the garage has
  been owned and operated by Balde Torres III, the great-grandson of
  the founder; with four generations of automotive experience to
  build upon, Mr. Torres offers area residents general maintenance
  services for a wide variety of vehicles; and
         WHEREAS, For nearly a century, from the Ford Model T to the
  Honda Civic, the Torres family has provided quality automobile
  service and repair for countless customers in Brownsville and
  Robstown, and this venerable Texas business is truly deserving of
  special recognition; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature, 3rd Called Session, hereby commend Torres Garage on
  its 92 years of operation and extend to Balde Torres III and his
  staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for the Torres family as an expression of high regard by
  the Texas House of Representatives.
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 2 was adopted by the House on August
  5, 2013, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House