Bill Text: TX HR1537 | 2013-2014 | 83rd Legislature | Introduced

NOTE: There are more recent revisions of this legislation. Read Latest Draft
Bill Title: Congratulating the 2013 Texas Commission on the Arts honorees.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 1-0)

Status: (Passed) 2013-04-29 - Reported enrolled [HR1537 Detail]

Download: Texas-2013-HR1537-Introduced.html
  83R21426 BPG-D
  By: Guillen H.R. No. 1537
         WHEREAS, The Texas Commission on the Arts has announced
  the 2013 appointments for the positions of State Poet Laureate,
  State Musician, State Two-Dimensional Artist, and State
  Three-Dimensional Artist; and
         WHEREAS, The state's highest accolade for excellence in the
  arts, designation as a Texas State Artist is conferred on those
  individuals who represent the best of our rich and diverse artistic
  community and who inspire others through their unique creative
  expression; and
         WHEREAS, San Antonio native Rosemary Catacalos is the 2013
  Texas State Poet Laureate; in 1985, she received the Texas
  Institute of Letters poetry prize for her first full-length
  collection of poems, Again for the First Time, which is scheduled
  for reissue on its 30th anniversary; her work has been widely
  published in high school and college textbooks, and it has twice
  appeared in the annual Best American Poetry anthology; from 2003 to
  2012, she served as executive-artistic director of Gemini Ink, a
  community-focused literary center in San Antonio; and
         WHEREAS, The 2013 Texas State Musician is Austin-based Craig
  Hella Johnson, one of the most influential choral conductors of
  today; as founder and artistic director of Conspirare, he has
  formed an award-winning ensemble whose mission is to create
  transformative concert experiences; he is also artistic director of
  the critically acclaimed Victoria Bach Festival, which draws
  musicians from across the country, and in 2012, he became the first
  artist-in-residence at the Texas State University School of Music;
         WHEREAS, Jim Woodson has been selected as the 2013 Texas
  State Two-Dimensional Artist; born in Waco, he has produced an
  impressive body of work over a career spanning more than five
  decades and is widely known for his high desert landscapes; his
  paintings have been featured in such prestigious exhibitions as the
  Florence Biennale and are held in many private and public
  collections, including those of the Amarillo Art Center, Belo
  Corporation, the El Paso Museum of Art, and the Modern Art Museum of
  Fort Worth; and
         WHEREAS, Named 2013 Texas State Three-Dimensional Artist,
  Joseph Havel joined the staff of the Glassell School of Art at the
  Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, in 1991 and became director of the
  institution five years later; one of his best-known sculptures,
  Curtain, was commissioned by the MFAH to frame the doorway to the
  Audrey Jones Beck Building; the Dallas Museum of Art and the
  Contemporary Museum, Honolulu, have also added his works to their
  collections, and his pieces have been exhibited extensively in
  Europe and in the United States; and
         WHEREAS, The artists who have been selected to hold these
  prestigious posts have all greatly contributed to the vibrant
  cultural life of the Lone Star State, and Texas is indeed fortunate
  to be home to these talented individuals; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate the 2013 Texas Commission on the
  Arts honorees and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued
  fulfillment in their creative endeavors.