Bill Text: TX HR1419 | 2011-2012 | 82nd Legislature | Enrolled

Bill Title: Recognizing October 26, 2011, as Texas Chicken Fried Steak Day.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Republican 1-0)

Status: (Passed) 2011-06-01 - Reported enrolled [HR1419 Detail]

Download: Texas-2011-HR1419-Enrolled.html
  H.R. No. 1419
         WHEREAS, Texans are renowned for their love of chicken fried
  steak, that exceptional dish that elevates the hearty flavor of
  beef to new heights by coating it in batter and breading and frying
  it until the ingredients are melded in a blissful union; and
         WHEREAS, A food that reflects the history and diversity of
  our state, chicken fried steak has been linked to the German
  specialty Wiener schnitzel, which arrived in Texas with European
  immigrants; other food historians note that chicken fried steak is
  similar to pan-fried steak, a favorite of Texas cowboys; and
         WHEREAS, Generations of Lone Star State residents have
  partaken of this beloved entree, and happy memories of putting
  knife and fork to a chicken fried steak in the company of family and
  friends are shared by countless people all across Texas; and
         WHEREAS, While chicken fried steak can be enjoyed at any
  time, the dish's popularity justifies the celebration of an
  observance in its honor; on October 26, 2011, restaurants
  throughout the state are marking the second annual Texas Chicken
  Fried Steak Day with special deals and related activities; and
         WHEREAS, This signature dish occupies a special place in the
  culinary culture of the Lone Star State, and Texas Chicken Fried
  Steak Day provides a welcome opportunity to pay homage to that
  shared legacy; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
  Legislature hereby recognize October 26, 2011, as Texas Chicken
  Fried Steak Day and extend sincere best wishes to all who are taking
  part in this unique occasion.
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 1419 was adopted by the House on May
  30, 2011, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House