Bill Text: TX HR116 | 2013 | 83rd Legislature 2nd Special Session | Enrolled

Bill Title: In memory of the Fort Bend/Southwest Star publisher Beverly Karen Carter.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 1-0)

Status: (Passed) 2013-07-18 - Reported enrolled [HR116 Detail]

Download: Texas-2013-HR116-Enrolled.html
  H.R. No. 116
         WHEREAS, Newspaper publisher and journalist Beverly Karen
  Carter of Fort Bend County, who benefited her fellow citizens with
  her devotion to the greater good, passed away on July 6, 2013, at
  the age of 72; and
         WHEREAS, Born to J. C. and Beatrice Carter on April 9, 1941,
  Bev Carter grew up in Ballinger with the companionship of a younger
  brother, Vance; she graduated from Texas Tech University and worked
  as a teacher for more than a decade; at both Alief Hastings and
  Elsik High Schools, she taught English and sponsored the student
  newspaper, the drama club, and the bowling team; and
         WHEREAS, Ms. Carter dreamed of owning and operating a
  community newspaper, and in 1978, she moved to Fort Bend County
  determined to do just that; she founded the Fort Bend Star that same
  year with the goal of providing area residents the knowledge and
  information needed to hold their elected officials accountable; she
  and her staff pounded the pavement in search of news, visiting
  government offices and beer joints alike, and their in-depth
  reporting became a signature of the paper; and
         WHEREAS, Renamed the Fort Bend/Southwest Star, the paper
  established itself as an important and respected voice within the
  county, and Ms. Carter earned numerous state and national awards
  for her work; she and her son, Michael, started the Fort Bend
  Business Journal in 1982, and in the early 1990s, she ventured into
  television with the Fort Bend Community TV cable cast; her
  daughter, Sherry, managed the station, which aired city council and
  county commissioners court meetings; and
         WHEREAS, Ms. Carter shared her unabashed opinions on
  politics, current affairs, and other matters in her weekly column,
  "Bev's Burner"; driven by a strong sense of duty to public
  integrity, she had a no-holds-barred approach, and she remained
  fiercely passionate about her cause; her status as a local icon
  caught the attention of national news programs, and she was invited
  to share her insights with the nation in interviews on 48 Hours and
  60 Minutes; and
         WHEREAS, Bev Carter left an unmistakable mark on Fort Bend
  County with her energy, initiative, and bold commitment to her
  principles, and she leaves behind a legacy that will continue to
  resonate for many years to come; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature, 2nd Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the life of
  Beverly Karen Carter and extend deepest sympathy to the members of
  her family: to her son, Michael Fredrickson, and his wife, Lisa; to
  her grandchildren, Kathryn, Carter, and Jack; and to her other
  relatives and friends; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
  Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Beverly
  Karen Carter.
Straus M. Gonzalez of El Paso Oliveira
Allen N. Gonzalez of El Paso Orr
Alonzo Gooden Otto
Alvarado Guerra Paddie
Anchia Guillen Parker
Anderson Gutierrez Patrick
Ashby Harless Perez
Aycock Harper-Brown Perry
Bell Hernandez Luna Phillips
Bohac Herrero Pickett
Bonnen of Brazoria Hilderbran Pitts
Bonnen of Galveston Howard Price
Branch Huberty Raney
Burkett Hughes Ratliff
Burnam Hunter Raymond
Button Isaac Reynolds
Callegari Johnson Riddle
Canales Kacal Ritter
Capriglione Keffer Rodriguez of Bexar
Carter King of Hemphill Rodriguez of Travis
Clardy King of Parker Rose
Coleman King of Taylor Sanford
Collier King of Zavala Schaefer
Cook Kleinschmidt Sheets
Cortez Klick Sheffield of Bell
Craddick Kolkhorst Sheffield of Coryell
Creighton Krause Simmons
Crownover Kuempel Simpson
Dale Larson Smith
Darby Laubenberg Smithee
Davis of Dallas Lavender Springer
J. Davis of Harris Leach Stephenson
S. Davis of Harris Lewis Stickland
Deshotel Longoria Strama
Dukes Lozano Taylor
Dutton Lucio III Thompson of Brazoria
Eiland Marquez Thompson of Harris
Elkins Martinez Toth
Fallon Martinez Fischer Turner of Collin
Farias McClendon Turner of Harris
Farney Menendez Turner of Tarrant
Farrar Miles Villalba
Fletcher Miller of Comal Villarreal
Flynn Miller of Fort Bend Vo
Frank Moody Walle
Frullo Morrison White
Geren Munoz, Jr. Workman
Giddings Murphy Wu
Goldman Naishtat Zedler
Gonzales Nevarez Zerwas
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 116 was unanimously adopted by a rising
  vote of the House on July 18, 2013.
  Chief Clerk of the House