Bill Text: TX HR10 | 2013 | 83rd Legislature 1st Special Session | Enrolled

Bill Title: Congratulating Calvin and LaVerne Smith of Burkeville on their 70th wedding anniversary.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Republican 1-0)

Status: (Passed) 2013-06-21 - Reported enrolled [HR10 Detail]

Download: Texas-2013-HR10-Enrolled.html
  H.R. No. 10
         WHEREAS, A 70th wedding anniversary marks a lifetime of
  mutual devotion and shared experiences, and Calvin and LaVerne
  Smith of Burkeville celebrated this joyous milestone in their
  marriage on May 28, 2013; and
         WHEREAS, Calvin Smith and the former LaVerne Youngblood were
  united in matrimony at a ceremony held in 1943; over the years, the
  couple became the parents of 4 children, Donna, Patricia, James,
  and Carol, and today their family includes 10 grandchildren and 10
  great-grandchildren; and
         WHEREAS, A veteran of World War II, Mr. Smith owned and
  operated a grocery store in Wiergate and served as a rural mail
  carrier for the Burkeville-Toledo Bend area until his retirement in
  1986; Mrs. Smith has been a dedicated homemaker throughout their
  marriage; and
         WHEREAS, While innumerable changes have taken place in the
  world during the past seven decades, this devoted husband and wife
  have remained constant in their commitment to each other, and the
  strength of their love has enabled them to meet life's challenges
  and opportunities with grace and optimism; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 83rd Texas
  Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Calvin and
  LaVerne Smith on their 70th wedding anniversary and extend to them
  sincere best wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Smith as an expression of high regard by
  the Texas House of Representatives.
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 10 was adopted by the House on June
  21, 2013, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House