Bill Text: TX HCR151 | 2011-2012 | 82nd Legislature | Enrolled

Bill Title: In memory of Bowie County Transport Deputy Sherri Jones.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Republican 2-0)

Status: (Passed) 2011-06-17 - Signed by the Governor [HCR151 Detail]

Download: Texas-2011-HCR151-Enrolled.html
  H.C.R. No. 151
         WHEREAS, The people of Bowie County lost a brave and highly
  respected public servant when deputy transport officer Sherri
  Katherine Lundy Jones was killed in the line of duty on April 18,
  2011, at the age of 54; and
         WHEREAS, Born in Atlanta, Texas, on September 10, 1956, the
  former Sherri Lundy was the daughter of Billy Lundy and Bonnie
  Stout; Deputy Jones served as a Bowie County sheriff's deputy for
  six years and distinguished herself through her skill and
  dedication; as a part-time transport officer, she treated prisoners
  with respect and professionalism; before joining the Sheriff's
  Department, she worked as a reserve officer for the Queen City
  Police Department; and
         WHEREAS, Deputy Jones impressed her colleagues tremendously
  with her integrity, loyalty, and dependability, and she won their
  enduring affection with her sweet nature and wonderful sense of
  humor; her sunny smile and positive attitude brightened the days of
  innumerable people; and
         WHEREAS, A devoted mother and grandmother, Deputy Jones loved
  to talk about the accomplishments of her family members, including
  her daughter, Devonna, and her son, Michael, who preceded her in
  death; she also enjoyed singing the praises of her fellow law
  enforcement officers, as well as sharing funny stories about her
  workplace "family," and she had a kind word for everyone she met;
         WHEREAS, Sherri Jones upheld the highest standards of her
  profession and will long be remembered for her profound commitment
  to public service; although she will be deeply missed, those who
  were privileged to share in the richness of her life will forever
  cherish their memories of this warm-hearted and selfless Texan;
  now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas
  hereby pay tribute to the life of Deputy Sherri Katherine Lundy
  Jones and extend sincere condolences to the members of her family:
  to her daughter, Devonna Ragsdale; to her stepsons, Paul Jones and
  his wife, Shawn, Jeffery Jones and his wife, Christina, and Michael
  Jones and his wife, Stephanie; to her mother, Bonnie Stout; to her
  brothers, Danny Lundy and Keith Lundy; to her sister, Dana Johnson;
  to her 10 grandchildren; and to her many other relatives and
  friends; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
  Representatives and Senate adjourn this day, they do so in memory of
  Sherri Jones.
Straus Gonzales of Williamson Morrison
Aliseda Gonzalez Munoz, Jr.
Allen Gooden Murphy
Alonzo Guillen Naishtat
Alvarado Gutierrez Nash
Anchia Hamilton Oliveira
Anderson of Dallas Hancock Orr
Anderson of McLennan Hardcastle Otto
Aycock Harless Parker
Beck Harper-Brown Patrick
Berman Hartnett Paxton
Bohac Hernandez Luna Pena
Bonnen Hilderbran Perry
Branch Hochberg Phillips
Brown Hopson Pickett
Burkett Howard of Fort Bend Pitts
Burnam Howard of Travis Price
Button Huberty Quintanilla
Cain Hughes Raymond
Callegari Hunter Reynolds
Carter Isaac Riddle
Castro Jackson Ritter
Chisum Johnson Rodriguez
Christian Keffer Schwertner
Coleman King of Parker Scott
Cook King of Taylor Sheets
Craddick King of Zavala Sheffield
Creighton Kleinschmidt Shelton
Crownover Kolkhorst Simpson
Darby Kuempel Smith of Harris
Davis of Dallas Landtroop Smith of Tarrant
J. Davis of Harris Larson Smithee
S. Davis of Harris Laubenberg Solomons
Deshotel Lavender Strama
Driver Legler Taylor of Collin
Dukes Lewis Taylor of Galveston
Dutton Lozano Thompson
Eiland Lucio III Torres
Eissler Lyne Truitt
Elkins Madden Turner
Farias Mallory Caraway Veasey
Farrar Margo Villarreal
Fletcher Marquez Vo
Flynn Martinez Walle
Frullo Martinez Fischer Weber
Gallego McClendon White
Garza Menendez Woolley
Geren Miles Workman
Giddings Miller of Comal Zedler
Gonzales of Hidalgo Miller of Erath Zerwas
  ______________________________ ______________________________
     President of the Senate Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.C.R. No. 151 was unanimously adopted by a
  rising vote of the House on May 19, 2011.
  Chief Clerk of the House   
         I certify that H.C.R. No. 151 was unanimously adopted by a
  rising vote of the Senate on May 20, 2011.
  Secretary of the Senate   
  APPROVED: __________________