Bill Text: TX HCR131 | 2019-2020 | 86th Legislature | Engrossed

NOTE: There are more recent revisions of this legislation. Read Latest Draft
Bill Title: Designating Bastrop County as the official Film Hospitality Capital of Texas for a 10-year period beginning in 2019.

Spectrum: Bipartisan Bill

Status: (Passed) 2019-05-28 - Signed by the Governor [HCR131 Detail]

Download: Texas-2019-HCR131-Engrossed.html
  86R25572 KSM-F
  By: Cyrier H.C.R. No. 131
         WHEREAS, For decades, residents of Bastrop County have opened
  their homes, businesses, and properties to film productions of all
  durations and sizes, forming friendly relations with industry
  professionals and watching with pride as local communities come to
  life on television and motion picture screens; and
         WHEREAS, The leadership of Bastrop County and the cities of
  Bastrop, Elgin, and Smithville have adopted film-friendly policies
  to ensure that projects operate smoothly, with minimal
  inconvenience to residents and businesses; chambers of commerce,
  private citizens, local agencies, and school districts actively
  support film production and make their homes and facilities
  available to filmmakers, understanding the economic impact these
  projects have on their communities; moreover, local film
  commissions provide workshops promoting dialogue between
  production companies and residents; and
         WHEREAS, Bastrop County is home to New Republic Studios, a
  full service production company encompassing sound stages,
  animation studios, and other state-of-the-art facilities; and
         WHEREAS, Many residents of Bastrop County proudly support
  themselves and their families through work on film projects; among
  the professionals who call the county home are writers, directors,
  location scouts, actors, accountants, caterers, carpenters,
  electricians, and other skilled workers; and
         WHEREAS, Each year, Bastrop County and its local communities
  welcome thousands of visitors who are following self-guided
  sightseeing trails established by the Texas Film Commission; among
  the stops on these tours are such famous locations as the family
  home in Hope Floats and the Bernie courtroom; and
         WHEREAS, Bastrop County residents have spent countless hours
  as volunteers supporting films made in their communities; the
  county has hosted hundreds of productions, from Academy
  Award-nominated feature films such as The Tree of Life to fan
  favorites that include Transformers: Age of Extinction and My
  All-American; celebrities have received a warm welcome here, from
  Julia Roberts, Jack Black, and Troy Aikman, who have strolled
  Bastrop's Main Street, to Brad Pitt and Jessica Chastain, who have
  enjoyed the ambiance of Smithville, to the Clydesdales, who have
  paraded through downtown Elgin; and
         WHEREAS, Film production companies enjoy the friendly
  people, diverse settings, and ample resources of Bastrop County,
  and the county is indeed worthy of recognition for its
  contributions to the film industry in the Lone Star State; now,
  therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the 86th Legislature of the State of Texas
  hereby designate Bastrop County as the official Film Hospitality
  Capital of Texas; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That, in accordance with the provisions of Section
  391.003(e), Government Code, this designation remain in effect
  until the 10th anniversary of the date this resolution is finally
  passed by the legislature.