<BillNo> <Sponsor>

SENATE RESOLUTION 177

By Kyle

A RESOLUTION to recognize and congratulate the members of the Memphis Pride Mini Storm for their many accomplishments during the 2017-2018 season.

WHEREAS, this legislative body takes great pleasure in paying tribute to those exemplary sports teams and athletes who have attained the pinnacle of competition, bringing great honor and acclaim to Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, the Memphis Pride Mini Storm is one such resolute group of young athletes, and during the 2017-2018 season, the team garnered various accolades in competition; and WHEREAS, the Memphis Pride Mini Storm is the Mini Prep Level Team of Memphis Pride Cheer and is composed of sixteen talented girls between the ages of seven and eight; and WHEREAS, these dedicated athletes spent their summer vacation perfecting their cheer routine, stunts, and gymnastic ability with daily practice and conditioning at the Memphis Pride All-Star Cheer and Dance athletic gym in Memphis, owned by Chris Crabtree; once school was

in session, the girls went to Memphis Pride directly after classes to train in preparation for the

season; and

WHEREAS, their hard work and dedication paid off; the team garnered first place laurels in the Mini Prep Division at athletic championships in Memphis, Chattanooga, and St. Louis, Missouri; while in St. Louis, the team also claimed honors for best stunt and innovative choreography and was named Gold Champion, the highest honor given among all the teams and divisions that participated in that competition; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Memphis Pride Mini Storm displayed tremendous athletic ability throughout the season while also excelling academically at their respective

schools; additionally, the girls assisted Memphis Pride in raising \$25,259 and collecting thousands of toys for the children and families of St. Jude Hospital; and

WHEREAS, the Memphis Pride Mini Storm is made up of star athletes Ava Sinclair Duckett, Ashton Colston, Haylen Parker, Tazariah Mosby, Charleigh Todd, Sydney Branch, Catelyn Sparkman, Amber Cleveland, Colbie James, Ami Brown, Mia Davis, Sophia Dunn, Kynnedi Hailey, Lauren Bowdery, Sophia Downey, and Shelbie Grace Barnes; and

WHEREAS, the team is guided by the impeccable leadership of Coach Candace Nurse and Coach Mark Stigger; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting that these outstanding young women should be recognized for their accomplishments in cheer competition; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED TENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, that we honor and congratulate the members of the Memphis Pride Mini Storm upon their winning season and extend to them our best wishes for continued success in all their future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.