<BillNo> <Sponsor>

SENATE RESOLUTION 6

By Norris

A RESOLUTION relative to the confirmation of appointments to the state university board of Austin Peay State University.

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-101, provides for the governance of Austin Peay State University by a state university board; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201, provides that the governor shall appoint eight (8) members to the state university board of Austin Peay State University; and

WHEREAS, the eight (8) gubernatorial appointees of the state university board of Austin Peay State University shall be joined by a faculty member of the institution who shall be selected by a method determined by the faculty senate and a non-voting student member who shall be appointed by the state university board; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201, further provides that at least three (3) of the gubernatorial appointees shall be alumni of the institution for which they are serving and that at least six (6) of the nine (9) voting members of the state university board shall be residents of the state of Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201(f)(2)(A), provides that the initial terms of the members appointed by the governor to a state university board shall be three (3), four (4), and six (6) years. Three (3) members shall serve a three-year term; three (3) members shall serve a four-year term; and two (2) members shall serve a six-year term; and

WHEREAS, Governor Bill Haslam has appointed Billy P. Atkins of Clarksville, Dr. Valencia May of Memphis, and Gary E. Luck of Clarksville to the state university board of Austin Peay State University, each for a term of three (3) years; and

WHEREAS, Governor Bill Haslam has appointed Larry W. Carroll of Charlotte, North Carolina, Don Jenkins of Clarksville, and Robin Mealer of Alexandria, Virginia, to the state university board of Austin Peay State University, each for a term of four (4) years; and

WHEREAS, Governor Bill Haslam has appointed Katherine Johnson Cannata of Nashville and Mike O'Malley of Clarksville to the state university board of Austin Peay State University, each for a term of six (6) years; and

WHEREAS, Billy P. Atkins is chairman and chief executive officer of Legends Bank in Clarksville; he attended Louisiana State University's Graduate School of Banking of the South; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Valencia May is a general dentist and owner of Plaza Dental Offices in Memphis; she holds a bachelor's degree from Austin Peay State University and a Doctor of Dental Science from the University of Tennessee School of Dentistry; and

WHEREAS, General Gary E. Luck, U.S. Army (retired), served as a senior advisor to the U.S. Joint Forces Command and is currently a senior fellow for the National Defense University in support of the Pinnacle, Capstone, and Keystone programs; he holds degrees from Kansas State University, Florida State University, and George Washington University; and

WHEREAS, Larry W. Carroll is president and chief executive officer of Carroll Financial Associates, Incorporated; he received his undergraduate degree at Austin Peay State University and obtained a master's degree in business administration at the University of Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, Don Jenkins is president and chief executive officer of Jenkins & Wynne Ford, Honda, and Lincoln in Clarksville; he is a graduate of Rhodes College; and

WHEREAS, Brigadier General Robin Mealer, U.S. Army (retired), is a director at the United States Army Manpower Analysis Agency; she is a graduate of York College of Pennsylvania, Austin Peay State University, the United States Army Command and General Staff College, and the United States Army War College; and

WHEREAS, Katherine Johnson Cannata is a dealer principal for Wyatt Johnson Automotive Group; she is a graduate of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville; and



WHEREAS, Mike O'Malley is partner and chief executive officer of Wendy's Bowling Green, a franchise operating forty-two restaurants in four states; he is a graduate of Ohio University; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201, provides that each member appointed by the governor to the state university board of Austin Peay State University shall be subject to confirmation by the senate and the house of representatives; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED TENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Billy P. Atkins to the state university board of Austin Peay State University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2020.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Dr. Valencia May to the state university board of Austin Peay State University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2020.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Gary E. Luck to the state university board of Austin Peay State University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2020.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Larry W. Carroll to the state university board of Austin Peay State University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2021.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Don Jenkins to the state university board of Austin Peay State University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2021.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Robin Mealer to the state university board of Austin Peay State University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2021.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Katherine Johnson Cannata to the state university board of Austin Peay State University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2023. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Mike O'Malley to the state university board of Austin Peay State University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2023.