<BillNo> <Sponsor>

SENATE RESOLUTION 2

By Norris

A RESOLUTION relative to the confirmation of appointments to the state university board of Middle Tennessee State University.

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-101, provides for the governance of Middle Tennessee State University by a state university board; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201, provides that the governor shall appoint eight (8) members to the state university board of Middle Tennessee State University; and

WHEREAS, the eight (8) gubernatorial appointees of the state university board of Middle Tennessee State University shall be joined by a faculty member of the institution who shall be selected by a method determined by the faculty senate and a non-voting student member who shall be appointed by the state university board; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201, further provides that at least three (3) of the gubernatorial appointees shall be alumni of the institution for which they are serving and that at least six (6) of the nine (9) voting members of the state university board shall be residents of the state of Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201(f)(2)(A), provides that the initial terms of the members appointed by the governor to a state university board shall be three (3), four (4), and six (6) years. Three (3) members shall serve a three-year term; three (3) members shall serve a four-year term; and two (2) members shall serve a six-year term; and

WHEREAS, Governor Bill Haslam has appointed W. Andrew Adams of Murfreesboro,

J.B. Baker of Nashville, and Pamela J. Wright of Nashville to the state university board of Middle

Tennessee State University, each for a term of three (3) years; and

WHEREAS, Governor Bill Haslam has appointed Pete Delay of Nashville, Joey A.

Jacobs of Nashville, and Chris Karbowiak of Brentwood to the state university board of Middle

Tennessee State University, each for a term of four (4) years; and

WHEREAS, Governor Bill Haslam has appointed Darrell Freeman, Sr., of Brentwood and Stephen B. Smith of Brentwood to the state university board of Middle Tennessee State University, each for a term of six (6) years; and

WHEREAS, W. Andrew Adams is the former chairman and chief executive officer of National Healthcare Corporation and previous chief executive officer of both National Health Investors, Incorporated, and National Health Realty, Incorporated; he is a graduate of Middle Tennessee State University; and

WHEREAS, J.B. Baker is chief executive officer and owner of Sprint Logistics; he is a graduate of Middle Tennessee State University; and

WHEREAS, Pamela J. Wright is the chief executive officer, owner, and founder of Wright Travel; she is a graduate of Middle Tennessee State University; and

WHEREAS, Pete Delay leads the Nashville office of Forterra Building Products and is the former president and owner of Sherman-Dixie Concrete Industries, Incorporated; and

WHEREAS, Joey A. Jacobs is the chairman and chief executive officer of Acadia

Healthcare Company; he is a graduate of Middle Tennessee State University; and

WHEREAS, Chris Karbowiak is executive vice president, chief administrative officer, and chief risk officer of Bridgestone Americas, Incorporated; she holds an undergraduate, graduate, and law degree from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign; and

WHEREAS, Darrell Freeman, Sr., is the executive chairman of Zycron, Incorporated, an information technology services and solutions firm; he holds both an undergraduate and graduate degree from Middle Tennessee State University; and

WHEREAS, Stephen B. Smith is chair of the board of Haury & Smith Contractors, Incorporated; he is a graduate of Middle Tennessee State University; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201, provides that each member appointed by the governor to the state university board of Middle Tennessee State University shall be subject to confirmation by the senate and the house of representatives; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED TENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of W. Andrew Adams to the state university board of Middle Tennessee State University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2020.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of J.B. Baker to the state university board of Middle Tennessee State University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2020.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Pamela J. Wright to the state university board of Middle Tennessee State University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2020.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Pete Delay to the state university board of Middle Tennessee State University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2021.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Joey A. Jacobs to the state university board of Middle Tennessee State University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2021.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Chris Karbowiak to the state university board of Middle Tennessee State University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2021.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Darrell Freeman, Sr., to the state university board of Middle Tennessee State University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2023.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Stephen B. Smith to the state university board of Middle Tennessee State University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2023.

- 3 - 001047