<BillNo> <Sponsor>

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 8005 of the Second Extraordinary Session By Southerland

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend Dr. Melinda Douthat
Pruitt upon her receipt of the 2020 Judy
Thompson Phillips Lifetime Contribution to
Education Award.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should salute those citizens who, through their extraordinary efforts, have distinguished themselves as community leaders of whom we can all be proud; and

WHEREAS, one such noteworthy person is Dr. Melinda Douthat Pruitt, who was recently selected as the recipient of the 2020 Judy Thompson Phillips Lifetime Contribution to Education Award; and

WHEREAS, the Judy Thompson Phillips Lifetime Contribution to Education Award was established to recognize those with exceptional service over a lifetime with Greene County Schools; and

WHEREAS, an educator with over thirty-nine years of experience, Dr. Melinda Douthat Pruitt has served as the Special Education Supervisor for Greene County Schools since 2006, having previously served for two years as the assistant special education supervisor; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Pruitt began her illustrious teaching career in 1980 as a Title I mathematics teacher at Ellijay Elementary School in Gilmer County, Georgia, before becoming a special education/deaf education teacher at Jonesborough Middle School in Jonesborough; and

WHEREAS, she began her employment with Greene County Schools in 1985 as a special education teacher at Mosheim Elementary School and next served as the assistant principal at Mosheim Elementary and special education coordinator for the west and south parts of the district in 1999; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Melinda Douthat Pruitt earned her Bachelor of Science and Master of Science degrees in Education from the University of Tennessee, completed forty-five hours above her master's degree in a concentration of emotional disturbance, and received her doctorate in Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis at East Tennessee State University; and

WHEREAS, an accomplished professional, Dr. Pruitt is a three-time president of the Greene County Education Association and a member of the Tennessee Education Association (TEA); she has served as a delegate to the TEA Representative Assembly for twenty-eight years and to the National Education Association Representative Assembly for nineteen years; and

WHEREAS, no stranger to awards and accolades, Dr. Pruitt has received the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award, the Mosheim Outstanding Teacher Award, and the Tennessee Education Association's Distinguished Administrator Award in addition to being included in *Who's Who in American Education*; and

WHEREAS, her many accomplishments aside, Dr. Melinda Douthat Pruitt is most appreciative of the love and support she has received throughout the years from her husband, Jeffrey Hal Pruitt, and her parents, Grace Imogene Douthat and the late J. Powell Douthat; and

WHEREAS, the members of this General Assembly find it appropriate to pause in their deliberations to acknowledge and applaud Dr. Melinda Douthat Pruitt for her dedication to the children of Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED ELEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we honor and commend Dr. Melinda Douthat Pruitt upon her selection as the recipient of the 2020 Judy Thompson Phillips Lifetime Contribution to Education Award and extend to her our best wishes for every future success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to

the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.

- 3 - 019073