SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 1687

By Southerland

A RESOLUTION to honor and congratulate the members of the Greeneville Sun's All-County boys' basketball team.

WHEREAS, we are pleased to specially recognize and commend those successful high school athletes who, through their magnificent exploits, bring honor to Tennessee and serve as exceptional ambassadors of this State; and

WHEREAS, fifteen players and one coach have been named to the *Greeneville Sun*'s 2021-2022 All-County boys' basketball team in recognition of their superior performance on the hardwood; and

WHEREAS, these young men epitomize all that is good in today's student athletes, as they have achieved a high level of success in sports while evincing great character both on and off the court; and

WHEREAS, the *Greeneville Sun*'s All-County team includes Greene County Player of the Year Ja'Kobi Gillespie of Greeneville High School, who was also honored as Class 3A Mr. Basketball and Most Valuable Player of the TSSAA Class 3A state tournament; and

WHEREAS, Coach of the Year Brad Woolsey of Greeneville High School inspired the Devils to embark upon a seventeen-game winning streak at the end of the season, which concluded with his team posting a 31-6 overall record and claiming its second consecutive state championship; and

WHEREAS, the other state-champion Greeneville players who were selected to the All-County team are Reid Satterfield, a former Greene County Player of the Year who, like Ja'Kobi Gillespie, reached the 2,000-career-points milestone; Jackson Tillery; and Adjatay Dabbs; and

WHEREAS, Chuckey Doak High School advanced to the Class 2A regional semifinals behind the stellar play of All-County honorees Christian Derry, who was named Class 2A District 1 tournament Most Valuable Player; Cadin Tullock; and Hayden Anderson; and

WHEREAS, North Greene High School reached the rarefied atmosphere of the TSSAA

Class A state tournament through the contributions of All-County selections Jason Britton,

Jasper Brand, and Cody Freshour; and

WHEREAS, All-County honorees Clint Lamb, Luke Myers, and Chandler Fillers led South Greene High School to the Class 2A regional semifinal round; and

WHEREAS, All-County selections Leyton Frye and Ethan Turner were instrumental in West Greene High School's roundball success this season; and

WHEREAS, we find it appropriate to acknowledge and applaud these superlative athletes as the best boys' basketball players in Greene County; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED TWELFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we honor and congratulate the members of the *Greeneville Sun*'s 2021-2022 All-County boys' basketball team and Coach of the Year Brad Woolsey and extend to them our best wishes for much continued success next season.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.

- 2 - 017491