SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 1574

By Southerland

A RESOLUTION to honor and congratulate Kelly Nguyen of Walters State Community College on being named to the All-Tennessee Academic Team and honored as a Coca-Cola Gold Scholar.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should pay tribute to those students who, through their natural talents and unflagging commitment to excellence, have distinguished themselves in the classroom and beyond; and

WHEREAS, Kelly Nguyen is one such exceptional student, who was recently named to the All-Tennessee Academic Team and honored as a Coca-Cola Gold Scholar; and

WHEREAS, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation partners with Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for community college students, to select Coca-Cola Scholars, the top 150 community college students across the nation nominated by college administrators; selection is based on factors such as academic achievement, leadership, and community engagement; and

WHEREAS, Kelly Nguyen is from Sevierville, and she is currently pursuing a degree in biology at Walters State Community College, where she is highly regarded by her peers and professors; and

WHEREAS, her noteworthy achievement is a tremendous source of pride for her family, her school, and her community; and

WHEREAS, Kelly Nguyen's dedication to excellence is clearly deserving of our respect, admiration, and commendation; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED THIRTEENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we commend and honor Kelly Nguyen on being named to the All-Tennessee Academic Team and honored as a Coca-Cola Gold Scholar and extend to her our best wishes for a happy, successful future.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.