SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 1467

By Southerland

A RESOLUTION to recognize and commend the Cocke County High School FFA Floriculture team members upon their regional championship victory.

WHEREAS, it is most fitting that we specially recognize those young citizens who participate in organizations whose mission is to promote horticultural education and development in this State; and

WHEREAS, one such group of individuals is the Cocke County High School FFA Floriculture team, which recently took first place out of twenty-two teams in the regional competition, held on March 7, 2024, at Walters State Community College; and

WHEREAS, the members of this exceptional team include Allie Ball, Rose Cody, Rachel Hartsell, Olivia Lewis, Maci McCallister, and Emily Miller; and

WHEREAS, by virtue of winning the regional competition, the team will compete for the state title at Tennessee Technological University on April 23, 2024; and

WHEREAS, for many years, FFA has played an important role in ensuring the growth and prosperity of floriculture in Tennessee and the nation by expertly molding our future leaders; and

WHEREAS, the success of this State, the strength of our communities, and the overall vitality of our society depend, in great measure, on the dedication of our students and our floricultural innovators, who will ensure Tennessee continues to lead the nation in horticultural production for generations to come; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED THIRTEENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we honor and recognize the Cocke County High School FFA Floriculture team members upon their regional victory and wish them much continued success in their future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.