SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 1129

By Reeves

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend Andrea McDonald for her meritorious service as the 2019-2020 speaker of the house of the American Pharmacists Association's Academy of Student Pharmacists.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should salute those citizens who, through their extraordinary efforts, have distinguished themselves as leaders of whom we can all be proud; and

WHEREAS, one such noteworthy person is Andrea McDonald, who was installed in 2019 as the speaker of the house of the American Pharmacists Association's Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP); and

WHEREAS, a Florida native, Andrea McDonald is a Doctor of Pharmacy candidate at the Lipscomb University College of Pharmacy and a member of the college's nationally recognized Academy of Student Pharmacists chapter, which is affiliated with the American Pharmacists Association, the largest association of pharmacists in the United States, with a membership of more than 62,000 practicing pharmacists, pharmaceutical students, student pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians; and

WHEREAS, Ms. McDonald attended Auburn University and the University of Alabama in Huntsville, from which she received a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry and Biology with a concentration in Biochemistry; and

WHEREAS, during her tenure as a doctoral candidate at Lipscomb, Ms. McDonald has served in a number of leadership roles, including APhA-ASP chapter policy and advocacy vice president, Tennessee Student Society of Pharmacists (TSSP) member-at-large, and TSSP delegate to the Tennessee Pharmacists Association, of which she is a member; and

WHEREAS, in 2018, Andrea McDonald was elected by her fellow student pharmacist members of the APhA as speaker of the house for the ASP, and she was installed the following year; as speaker, she sits on the APhA Board of Trustees, which is responsible for making decisions regarding the future of the pharmacy profession, visits colleges and schools of pharmacy throughout the U.S., and attends the APhA-ASP midyear regional meetings; and

WHEREAS, throughout her term as APhA-ASP speaker of the house, Andrea McDonald has represented the State, the Lipscomb University College of Pharmacy, and the Tennessee Pharmacists Association with honor and distinction, serving as an effective member of the APhA Board of Trustees and leading the students of APhA-ASP through another year; and

WHEREAS, her many professional accomplishments aside, she is most grateful for the love and support of her parents, Emmett and Carolyn McDonald, and her daughter, Olivia Kate McDonald; and

WHEREAS, it is wholly fitting that the members of this General Assembly recognize Ms.

McDonald for her outstanding service in this national professional leadership role; now,
therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED ELEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we hereby honor and commend Andrea McDonald for her meritorious service as the 2019-2020 speaker of the house of the American Pharmacists Association's Academy of Student Pharmacists, applaud her professional dedication and leadership, and extend our best wishes for every future success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.