## SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 1098

By Watson

A RESOLUTION to honor and congratulate the Baylor School's boys' and girls' swimming and diving teams upon being named the 2022 Tennessee Interscholastic Swim Coaches Association State Champions.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that we salute those successful athletic teams that, through their magnificent exploits, bring honor to Tennessee and serve as exceptional ambassadors for this State; and

WHEREAS, Baylor School won the combined, girls', and boys' 2022 Tennessee
Interscholastic Swim Coaches Association State Swimming and Diving Championships; this is
the third consecutive year that Baylor School has won all three championships; and

WHEREAS, for the seventeenth year in a row, Baylor School won the combined team title while the girls' team claimed its fourth consecutive state title and the boys' team won its third consecutive state title; and

WHEREAS, throughout the championship meet, Baylor School had some fantastic swims, with the highlight of the meet coming from the Girls 200-yard Medley Relay, which the team finished with a state title and a National Interscholastic Swim Coaches Association Automatic All-American time; and

WHEREAS, under head coach Brian Gill, the members of the Baylor School girls' team who finished in the top sixteen include Lille Boggs, Grace Burks, Claire Ellish, Sarah Hollowell, Julia Kaufman, Talia Joels, Ellie Lydon, Avery May, Charlotte Murphree, Genevieve O'Neil, Caroline Schenck, Finley Smith, and Madelyn Yates; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Baylor School boys' team who finished in the top sixteen include Lucas Chacon, Sam Flack, Caden Fritz, Charlie Han, Drew Hitchcock, Jacob

Holmes, Josean Massucco, Cullen Roberts, Owen Seymour, Will Taylor, George Von Canon, Luke Waldrep, and Flynn Watson-Brown; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Baylor School boys' and girls' swimming and diving teams have distinguished themselves as excellent athletes with even greater promise, and these young men and women are richly deserving of our approbation; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED TWELFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we honor the Baylor School's boys' and girls' swimming and diving teams upon being named the 2022 Tennessee Interscholastic Swim Coaches Association State Champions, congratulate the coaches and athletes on an outstanding season, and wish them all the best of luck for next season.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.

- 2 - 013933