SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 1021

By McNally

A RESOLUTION to honor the fiftieth anniversary of the Tennessee Prayer Breakfast.

WHEREAS, the Tennessee Prayer Breakfast is a non-partisan event held annually each year in Nashville prior to the conclusion of the General Assembly's legislative session; and WHEREAS, the event features worship through music, a short uplifting message, and prayer for God's grace on the State of Tennessee, its elected officials, and its citizens; and WHEREAS, in 1971, Governor Winfield Dunn hosted the first Governor's Prayer Breakfast so that legislators, members of the administration, and guests could enjoy time together free of political considerations; and

WHEREAS, the first Governor's Prayer Breakfast speaker was Arizona Governor Jack Williams, a respected Christian layman and news professional; and

WHEREAS, in 1980, Nashville entrepreneur and former U.S. Ambassador to France Joe M. Rodgers led an ad hoc Citizens' Committee that organized the Tennessee Prayer Breakfast in its present format, which is Tennessee's version of the National Prayer Breakfast; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee's governors of both political parties have hosted or participated in the breakfast ever since; and

WHEREAS, the Tennessee Prayer Breakfast is presented annually by The Citizens'
Committee, a nonprofit volunteer group of Christian business leaders, elected officials, and
ministry leaders; and

WHEREAS, past speakers have included the Honorable Bill Haslam and First Lady
Crissy Haslam, Dr. Russell Moore, Gary Haugen, Franklin Graham, Richard Stearns, Michael
W. Smith, Tom Landry, Charles Colson, Elizabeth Dole, Charles Swindoll, Anne Graham Lotz,
Rachel Macy Stafford, Phil Vischer, Johnny Cash, Nelson Rockefeller, and Scott Hamilton; and

WHEREAS, past musical guests have included Chris Tomlin, Steven Curtis Chapman, Matthew West, Tom Douglas, Nicole C. Mullen, Michael W. Smith, Ellie Holcomb, The Choir Room, Mandisa, Melinda Doolittle, Amy Grant, Allison Krauss, CeCe Winans, Larnelle Harris, Josh Turner, the Fisk Jubilee Singers, the Gaither Vocal Band, The Katinas, Reverend Lawrence Thomison, and the Nashville Choir; and

WHEREAS, the 50th Annual Tennessee Prayer Breakfast will be held on Thursday, March 14, 2024, with special guest Walker Zimmerman and musical guests Steven Curtis Chapman and The Choir Room; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED THIRTEENTH

GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF

REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we recognize and celebrate the 50th Annual

Tennessee Prayer Breakfast and extend our best wishes for the event's continued success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted form such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the state seal appear without House or Senate designation.

- 2 - 013846