<BillNo> <Sponsor>

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 962

By Bailey

A RESOLUTION to congratulate the White County High School archery team on winning the 2018 NASP State Championship.

WHEREAS, the General Assembly is pleased to specially honor and commend those successful high school teams that, through their magnificent exploits, bring honor to Tennessee and serve as exceptional ambassadors for this State; and

WHEREAS, the White County High School archery team achieved an extraordinary level of success during the 2018 season, winning the coveted National Archery in the Schools Program (NASP) State Championship; and

WHEREAS, hosted by the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency, the NASP State Championships were held at the Tennessee Miller Coliseum on the campus of Middle Tennessee State University on March 28-29, 2018, in Murfreesboro; and

WHEREAS, state championships are achieved only through hard work, dedication, and the ability to work together as a team and excel with a cooperative spirit; the young athletes from White County exhibited each of these rare qualities during their championship season; and

WHEREAS, in winning White County High School's third archery state championship since 2014, the team amassed a score of 3,339, with 3,600 being the perfect score, and defeated Riverdale High School by nine points to claim the top prize; and

WHEREAS, having claimed the NASP state championship title, White County High School has earned the right to proudly represent the State of Tennessee in the NASP National Tournament to be held in Louisville, Kentucky, later this year; and

WHEREAS, the members of the state champion White County High School archery team are Cameron Dixon, Taylor Parks, Braxton Hutson, Zach Knowles, Sarah Robbins, McKenna Young, Hannah Rogan, Angelle Howard, Alexis Smith, Hunter Nolan, Dylan Copeland, Brett Howard, T.J. Plunkett, Caz Bilbrey, Sarah Sergio, Logynn Loftin, Brady Dempsey, Tucker Nash, Dylan Goodwin, Sara Jo Sims, C.J. Stone, Clay Howard, Gracy Luna, Maria Templeton, Nick Plunkett, Collyer Steele, Sydney Sergio, Rob Adcock, Caitlyn Isom, and Noah Armstrong; and

WHEREAS, the members of the White County High School archery team epitomize all that is good in today's student athlete, as they have achieved the highest level of success in competition while showing the highest degree of character; and

WHEREAS, the dedication, determination, work ethic, and talent of this group of young women and men not only made possible a championship season but also surely bode well for their success in every future endeavor; and

WHEREAS, the State of Tennessee takes great pride in the tremendous accomplishments of those student athletes who achieve championship laurels, and it is wholly fitting that they should be commended for attaining their lofty goal; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED TENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we congratulate the members, coaching staff, and fans of the White County High School archery team on winning the 2018 NASP State Championship.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.