SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 923

By Berke

A RESOLUTION to honor and congratulate the Hamilton County Schools 2010 Teachers of the Year.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should pause to specially recognize those outstanding teachers who have devoted their careers to providing the highest quality education for Tennessee's students; and

WHEREAS, Linda McMurray, John Echols, and Joey Gaby are all such estimable educators who have distinguished themselves as a professionals of the greatest dedication, ability, and integrity; and

WHEREAS, Ms. McMurray, Mr. Echols, and Ms. Gaby have recently been named 2010 Hamilton County Department of Education (HCDE) Tennessee Teachers of the Year, an honor most befitting their outstanding tenure as teachers as it recognizes the positive influence they have had on so many young lives; and

WHEREAS, these three remarkable individuals are extremely talented and compassionate educators who work assiduously to motivate their students to reach their full potential, both as scholars and as citizens; and

WHEREAS, Ms. McMurray, the HCDE Teacher of the Year in the Grades K-4 Division, offers her boundless enthusiasm, tireless work ethic, and compassionate spirit to the kindergartners at Lakeside Academy; and

WHEREAS, holding a Bachelor of Arts degree in Early Childhood Education from the University of Alabama at Birmingham and a Master of Arts degree in Education from Tusculum College, Linda McMurray has twenty-eight years of teaching experience, twenty-seven of those in Hamilton County; and WHEREAS, in addition to cultivating the intellects of her young charges, she is a member of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society, a kindergarten professional development presenter at the Chattanooga City Schools/Tyner Network, a school-wide positive behavior team leader, and a Orchard Knob Elementary/Lakeside Academy mentor teacher; and

WHEREAS, a ten year educator, John Echols has spent the last eight years cultivating the dreams of passion, acceptance, creativity, and excellence of sixth graders through his Reading and Language Arts courses at the Center for Creative Arts; he was selected as the HCDE Teacher of the Year in the Grades 5-8 Division; and

WHEREAS, possessing an unquenchable thirst for knowledge, John Echols earned his Bachelor of Arts degree in Communication Arts and English from Oral Roberts University, his Master of Arts degree in English and Rhetoric-Composition from the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, and his Master of Divinity from the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary; and

WHEREAS, an active and important member of the teaching profession, Mr. Echols is a member of the National Council of Teachers of English and the International Reading Association and renders sterling service as the Middle School Language Arts lead teacher, a University of Tennessee at Chattanooga workshop presenter, a National Board for Professional Teaching Standards assessor, and a Middle School Model United Nations sponsor; and

WHEREAS, no stranger to honors and accolades, John Echols was won the Golden Apple Award and gained recognition at Columbia University's Teacher's College Reading and Writing Project; and

WHEREAS, selected as the HCDE Teacher of the Year in the Grades 9-12 Division and the Regional Teacher of the Year, Joey Gaby has seventeen years of experience in education and has been on the staff of Tyner Academy for eleven years, serving with acumen and alacrity as a Chemistry, Science Troupe, and Aquatic Biology teacher; and

WHEREAS, personally dedicated to academic rigor, Ms. Gaby embarked upon her expedition into the sciences at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, where she earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in Chemistry, and at the University of Tennessee at Knoxville, where she completed her master's in science; and

- 2 -

WHEREAS, when she is not busy shaping and molding young minds, Ms. Gaby serves as the Chairman of the Science Department at Tyner Academy; a Hamilton County teacher training presenter; a High School-Museum Collaborations presenter for the ASTC National Conference; a Troupe Elucidates Elementary Science presenter for the CES National Conference; and a member of the National Science Teachers Association, Tennessee Educators of Aquatic and Marine Science, Delta Kappa Gamma, American Chemical Society, HCDE Secondary Science Textbook Adoption Committee, and the HCDE Chemistry Course Standards Alignment Committee; and

WHEREAS, Ms. McMurray, Mr. Echols, and Ms. Gaby truly serve as inspirations to their colleagues and students alike, and their friendship and counsel are highly valued by those who are fortunate to know them; and

WHEREAS, they each truly epitomize the dedicated teacher who is wholly committed to the highest ideals of public service and quality education for all, and they should be specially recognized; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED SIXTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we hereby honor and congratulate Linda McMurray, John Echols, and Joey Gaby on being named 2010 Hamilton County Department of Education Tennessee Teachers of the Year, commend their exceptional service to the children of Tennessee, salute their professional expertise and personal excellence, and wish them all the best in their future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

- 3 -