SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 899

By Pody

A RESOLUTION to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Lebanon Wilson County Chamber of Commerce.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly commend those longstanding organizations that work to promote the commercial success of their communities and this State; and

WHEREAS, one such noteworthy organization is the Lebanon Wilson County Chamber of Commerce, which is celebrating its 100th anniversary this year; and

WHEREAS, the Lebanon Wilson County Chamber of Commerce was chartered in September 1924 by a group of businessmen that wanted to form an organization that worked for the betterment of the community, and thus, the Chamber began with sixty members, paying a membership fee of \$60.00 per year; and

WHEREAS, in its early days, the Chamber focused on improvements to schools, creation of tolls and bridges, and growth and economic development, in addition to quality of life with community events; and

WHEREAS, today, the Chamber is the primary resource for business and the catalyst for community development in Wilson County, and it works with a comprehensive and diverse community to support, educate, and engage member businesses; and

WHEREAS, mindful of its mission to "coordinate the talents and energies of business, industry, and individuals to make Wilson County a better place to live, work, and raise a family," the Lebanon Wilson County Chamber of Commerce strives for excellence by making a difference throughout Wilson County; and

WHEREAS, throughout its 100-year history, the Chamber has been led by a bevy of steadfast and distinguished presidents: W.D. Ferrell (1924, 1925), O.B. Cleveland (1926),

Edward Graham (1927, 1928), Stark Goodbar (1929), Herman Eskew (1930, 1931), Kerley Wilson (1932, 1934, 1935), Roy Crips (1933, 1936, 1937, 1938), W.J. Baird (1939, 1940), Homer Shannon (1941), W.C. Clay (1942), A.A. Adams, Jr., (1943), O.B. Cleveland (1944), A.A. Adams, Jr., (1945, 1946, 1947), Harrell Meadors (1948), W.H. Maddox (1949), J.D. Draper (1950), Roy Crips (1951), Jim Horn Hankins (1952), Hoyal Johnson (1953, 1954), Charles Loyd (1955), E.O. Jackson (1956), Bill Regen (1957), Roy Crips (1958), Jim Lancaster (1959), Dr. B.S. Howard (1960), Ted Ezell (1961), Ken Lester, Jr., (1962), Robert Vanhooser (1963), Hubert Turner (1964), John Hatcher (1965), Graydon Robinson (1966), Jesse Coe (1967), Louis Smartt (1968), W.L. Bell, Jr., (1969), Comer A. Donnell (1970), Cecil J. Johnson, Sr., (1971), Charles P. Bradley (1972), Don Simpson (1973), Darwin Lankford (1974), Wendell R. Kopp (1975), Roger E. Beatty (1976), E.H. McClintock (1977), J.W. "Bill" Martin (1978), Ed Callis (1979), J.B. Leftwich (1980), Bill McDowell (1981), Jerry Franklin (1982), Max Smith (1983), Randall Clemons (1984), Richard Macon (1985), Ted R. Aulds (1986), Jere McCullouch (1987), Nelson Steed (1988), Bill McDowell (1989), Tony Shipp (1990), David Foutch (1991), Jim Mills (1992), Mike Baker (1993), Don McDougle (1994), Ken Howell (1995), Pat Bone (1996), Mark Lee (1997), Jackie Gaither (1998), Dave White (1999), Paul Stovall (2000), Bob McDonald (2001), Bob Lee (2002), Judge Barry Tatum (2003), John McDearman (2004), Ken Caldwell (2005), Eric Thompson (2006), Paul C. Stumb IV (2007), Becky Jennings (2008), John Lancaster (2009), Danny Stewart (2010), Paul Jewell (2011), Chris Crowell (2012), Rick Smith (2013), John Bryan (2014), John Bradshaw (2015), Scott Jasper (2016), Jud Nave (2017), JB Owens (2018), Necole Bell (2019), Greg Butler (2020), Jeff Peterson (2021), Curt Baker (2022), and Wes Dugan (2023); and

WHEREAS, under the current leadership of President and Chief Executive Officer Melanie Minter, the organization continues its long tradition of making Wilson County a great place to work, play, grow, and prosper; and

- 2 -

WHEREAS, in a century of operation, the Lebanon Wilson County Chamber of Commerce has been the foundation of Wilson County's business community and has worked to foster a thriving economy; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED THIRTEENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we hereby commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Lebanon Wilson County Chamber of Commerce and extend to the Chamber, its members, and its partners our best wishes for continued success in all future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.