SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 893

By McNally

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend Dr. Marie Chisholm-Burns upon her exemplary tenure as Dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center.

WHEREAS, the members of this General Assembly are pleased to recognize a dedicated professional and inspiring leader who has built bridges to support, health, education, and research while also utilizing her passion and enthusiasm to implement innovative learning environments and champion diversity, equity, and inclusion; and

WHEREAS, for the past ten years, Dean Marie Chisholm-Burns, Pharm.D., Ph.D.,
M.P.H., M.B.A, FCCP, FASHP, FAST, has provided outstanding leadership as the Dean of the
College of Pharmacy at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC); and

WHEREAS, Dean Chisholm-Burns has worked with purpose and commitment to fulfill the College of Pharmacy's mission and vision and guided the school to unprecedented successes in numerous areas; and

WHEREAS, during her tenure as Dean, the College of Pharmacy has increased its research awards significantly, revised its curriculum, launched new degree programs, expanded its statewide footprint, and been ranked as a Top 20 school of pharmacy by *U.S. News & World Report*; and

WHEREAS, during her remarkable tenure, the College has quadrupled its funding for research from the National Institutes of Health (NIH), elevating its ranking for NIH funding from approximately 40th to 14th among more than 140 colleges of pharmacy; launched the Bachelor of Science in Pharmaceutical Sciences degree, as well as several dual-degree and certificate programs; established a three-year accelerated Pharm.D. pathway; opened its new Nashville

campus; implemented scholarships for all students; and consistently achieved outstanding graduation and licensure board examination pass rates; and

WHEREAS, the College of Pharmacy has made great strides in diversity, equity, and inclusion with Dean Chisholm-Burns at the helm and now has one of the largest minority student populations among colleges of pharmacy nationwide; and

WHEREAS, holding a dual appointment as a distinguished professor with tenure in UTHSC's College of Pharmacy and College of Medicine, this accomplished scholar is also a member of the American Society of Transplantation Board of Directors and founder and director of the Medication Access Program, a statewide outreach organization responsible for increasing medication accessibility for solid-organ transplant recipients; and

WHEREAS, Dean Chisholm-Burns is prominent among her peers as Tennessee

Commissioner for the Education Recovery and Innovation Commission and a board member of the Accreditation Council of Pharmacy Education; and

WHEREAS, before joining UTHSC, she served as head of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science at the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy; she received a Ph.D. from the University of South Dakota, an M.B.A. from the University of Memphis, an M.P.H. from Emory University, and a Pharm.D. from the University of Georgia; and

WHEREAS, Dean Chisholm-Burns's contributions as a leader, educator, and researcher have been recognized with numerous awards from national professional organizations, including the National Academies of Practice; and

WHEREAS, she has received approximately \$17 million in funding from external grant funding and has more than 365 publications to her credit; and

WHEREAS, at the conclusion of the 2022 academic year, Dr. Chisholm-Burns is leaving UTHSC to serve as the new executive vice president and provost of Oregon Health and Science University, where her experience in deep strategic leadership will be invaluable, as always; and

- 2 - 011799

WHEREAS, we would like to thank Dean Chisholm-Burns for her hard work in making the UTHSC College of Pharmacy one of the best and most inclusive professional schools in the nation and extend to her our best wishes for every continued success and happiness in her new position; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED TWELFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we honor Dr. Marie Chisholm-Burns upon her exemplary tenure as Dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center and commend her ongoing dedication to innovation and inclusion in health sciences education.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.

- 3 - 011799