SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 886

By Norris

A RESOLUTION to confirm the appointment of Raja J. Jubran to the board of trustees of the University of Tennessee.

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-201, as amended by Chapter ___ of the Public Acts of 2018 (SB2260), provides for the governance of the University of Tennessee by the board of trustees; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-202, as amended by Chapter ___ of the Public Acts of 2018 (SB2260), provides that the governor shall appoint ten (10) members to the board of trustees of the University of Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, Governor Bill Haslam has appointed Raja J. Jubran of Knoxville to the board of trustees of the University of Tennessee to a term that commences July 1, 2018, and expires June 30, 2020; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Jubran is the founder and chief executive officer of Denark

Construction, Inc., a Knoxville-based general contracting and engineering company; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Jubran serves on the Clayton Bancorp Board of Directors and Clayton Bank and Trust Board of Directors and contributes to the community as a member of the Innovation Valley Inc. Board of Directors, among other community involvement; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Jubran earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville and is a recipient of the prestigious Nathan W. Dougherty Award from the College of Engineering; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Jubran currently serves on the board of trustees and brings leadership and a strong commitment to the university and community; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-202, as amended, provides that each member appointed by the governor to the board of trustees of the University of Tennessee shall be confirmed by the General Assembly; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED TENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Raja J. Jubran to the board of trustees of the University of Tennessee for a term that commences July 1, 2018, and expires June 30, 2020.