SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 879

By Herron

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend the 2011-12 Dresden High School football team on a tremendous season

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should salute those successful high school athletic teams that, through their magnificent exploits, bring honor to Tennessee and serve as exceptional ambassadors of this State; and

WHEREAS, the members of the 2011-12 Dresden High School football team have proven themselves to be the fiercest of competitors and, as such, deserving of the highest regard; and

WHEREAS, the Dresden Lions count among their members some of the most talented young athletes Tennessee has ever produced; and

WHEREAS, under the leadership of Coach Scott Hewett, the 2011-12 team propelled itself to the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association's (TSSAA) Division I Class 2A State Championship and finished the season with four playoff wins; and

WHEREAS, Dresden finished the first round against McKenzie with a final score of 35-7, narrowly defeated Humboldt in the second round with a score of 22-21, and beat Memphis Westwood, 32-12, in the quarterfinals; and

WHEREAS, in the semifinal game, the Lions secured a 35-10 victory over the team from Adamsville; and

WHEREAS, the Lions overcame many obstacles, such as illness and inclement weather, in the week leading up to the state championship; and

WHEREAS, in the final game of the 2011 Division I BlueCross Bowl, the Dresden Lions played with much determination and put forth a valiant effort, the result of a season's worth of hard work and fortitude: and

WHEREAS, the Dresden Lions became the top Class 2A public school team in the entire State; and

WHEREAS, the Dresden Lions are: Joey Smith, Dillon Jolley, Tyler Hutcherson, Nathan Gibbs, Sam Ellis, Brett Kayser, Hayden Nanney, RJ Nichols, Quinn Mosely, Jeffrey Hampton, Blake Stoker, Colter Swafford, Joey Caldwell, Taylor Jobe, Ben Kendall, Brance Ammons, Nick Cobb, Braxton Owens, Bobby Hampton, Casey Evans, Jordan Winstead, Todd Morgan, Jastin James, Davis Moran, Seth Fulcher, Logan Thomas, Daniel Bowers, Devan Raymer, Alex Ellison, Dakota Powers, Auston Parsley, Josh Turnbow, Dylan Kemp, Brandon Burton, Hunter Cochran, Zac Seat, Sean Moody, Cody Willingham, Josh Torres, Eric Van Dyke, Gatlin Hatchel, Colin Kanehl, Casey McDaniels, Jamie Garner, DJ Ellis, Jonathan Rosenberry, and Tyler McPeak; and

WHEREAS, these players greatly benefitted from the dedicated leadership of Assistant Principal and Head Coach Scott Hewett and Assistant Coaches Scott Killebrew, Tim Evans, Gary Gomes, Kenneth Irvine, Keith Hodge, and Chad Hodge; and

WHEREAS, this team brought great pride to its managers, Emily Coleman, Samantha O'Callaghan, Maria Burkeen, Caleb Huestis, Amber Hayes, and Lauren King; Principal Chuck West; Dresden High School; and the entire Dresden community; and

WHEREAS, as a result of their hard work, Coach Hewett was named The Jackson Sun Football Coach of the Year, and four players were named to the All-State Team: Gatlin Hatchel, Tyler McPeak, Eric Van Dyke, and Josh Turnbow; and

WHEREAS, in recognition of their outstanding athleticism, the Mayor of the City of Dresden designated November 28-December 3, 2011 as Dresden Lions Week and December 3, 2011 as Scott Hewett Day, and the team was named Honorary Grand Marshals for the 33rd Annual Tennessee Iris Festival parade on May 5, 2012; and

WHEREAS, displaying great sportsmanship and outstanding spirit, the members of the Dresden team have conducted themselves in a manner appropriate to the integrity of the State of Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, the Dresden High School Lions have displayed the tenacity, camaraderie and skill befitting one of the State's finest athletic teams; and

WHEREAS, this General Assembly finds it appropriate to pause in its deliberations to acknowledge and applaud the 2011-12 Dresden High School football team, not only for their outstanding season, but for the players' superior sportsmanship and the joy they have brought to their fellow students and the people of Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we hereby honor and congratulate the 2011-12 Dresden High School football team for their heralded successes on the field and extend to them our best wishes for future success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

- 3 - 01710252