## SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 873

## By Norris

## A RESOLUTION to honor and applaud head coach Jeff Ruffin and the St. George's Independent School boys' basketball team on capturing the TSSAA Division II A State Championship.

WHEREAS, the General Assembly is pleased to specially honor and commend those successful high school teams that, through their magnificent exploits, bring honor to Tennessee and serve as exceptional ambassadors of this State; and

WHEREAS, led by head coach Jeff Ruffin, the St. George's Independent School boys' basketball team achieved an extraordinary level of success during the 2009-2010 season, establishing a record of twenty-five wins and six losses and winning the TSSAA Division II A State Championship; and

WHEREAS, after resounding victories over their opponents during the state playoffs, the Gryphons rolled into Division II A State Championship game, held March 6, 2010, at Lipscomb University's Allen Arena in Nashville; and

WHEREAS, St. George's completed their amazing season by soundly defeating University School of Nashville 56-41 and capturing the state championship trophy; and

WHEREAS, the championship game was highlighted by the outstanding performance of St. George's senior guard Asa Toney, who scored seventeen points, made six assists, and collected five rebounds, earning him the Most Valuable Player honors for the state tournament; and

WHEREAS, sophomore teammate Alec Mulvihill also scored seventeen points, including back-to-back three point shots midway through the second quarter which gave the Gryphons the lead for good. Junior guard Cooper Green, who scored nine points and grabbed nine rebounds during the contest, and the stellar play of St. George's big man, sophomore center Jonathan Coleman, who also added nine points and eight rebounds, contributed greatly to St. George's state championship victory; and

WHEREAS, the leadership and passion for the game of head coach Jeff Ruffin and assistant coach Cole Hoppe, are without peer; Coach Ruffin's precepts of playing tenacious defense, controlling the ball on offense, and limiting mistakes were perfectly on display during the Gryphon's run for the championship; and

WHEREAS, the young men of the 2009-2010 St. George's Independent School boys' basketball team have displayed ability, teamwork, and perseverance. Asa Toney, Alec Mulvihill, Cooper Green, Jonathan Coleman, Clay Eber, Robert Heard, Aston Keaton, Josh Klesges, Hunter Kraus, Matthew Sims, Bryan Smith, and Bradford Toney, with the help of their coaches, parents, teachers, school administrators, supporters, and many fans, represented their school and the State of Tennessee in fine fashion, displaying peerless character both on and off the basketball court; and

WHEREAS, during this incredible championship season, the members of the St. George's boys' basketball team have etched their names onto the hearts of Tennesseans and into the annals of Tennessee sports history; their dedication, determination, work ethic, and talent not only made possible a successful and memorable basketball season, but also surely point toward their successes in future endeavors; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED SIXTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we honor and congratulate head coach Jeff Ruffin and the St. George's Independent School boys' basketball team for their heralded success on the basketball court and for capturing the TSSAA Division II A State Championship.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

- 2 -