## **SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 825**

By Tracy

A RESOLUTION to honor and congratulate The Webb School on winning the 2013 eight-man football conference championship and placing second in the National Association of Christian Athletes tournament.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should salute those student athletes who, through their extraordinary efforts, have distinguished themselves as true sportsmen of whom all can be proud; and

WHEREAS, the members of The Webb School's 2013 eight-man football team have proven themselves to be the ablest of competitors and, as such, deserving of the highest regard; and

WHEREAS, under the leadership of Head Coach David Forrest, the team propelled itself to second place in the National Association of Christian Athletes tournament only three seasons after the team was founded; and

WHEREAS, this successful team enjoyed an undefeated record of 11-0 during the regular season, scoring 522 points while only allowing 71; the team averaged 43.3 points per game while only allowing an average of 128 yards per game and 9.8 points; and

WHEREAS, The Webb School defeated Aaron Academy 53-0 to win the Middle

Tennessee Athletic Conference championship, which enabled them to continue to the National

Association of Christian Athletes eight-man playoffs in Dayton; and

WHEREAS, after defeating Hope Christian High School 28-22 in the first round of the playoffs, The Webb School team fell to Evangel Christian School 35-14 in order to finish as national runner-up; and

WHEREAS, the players of this successful team include Greg Kilpatrick, Zach Fenner, Rod Walsh, Walker Gordon, Alex Hulsey, Chris Burgoon, Tony Iorio, Colin Paffrath, Houston

Jones, Wes Watson, Mitch Owens, Jesse Fenner, Shawn Duncan, Brandon Richardson, Temaz Fergeson, Nick Tilton, Deion Nickson, Alex Wang, Cameron Minnis, Bill Cao, Pierce Matthews, Wallace Fee, Jon Vaz, Shawn Ayeni, Paul Eom, Charles Yoon, Isaac Williams, Legend Zhou, Weldon Stewart, Manny Wright, Anthony Taylor, Zack Norris, Chase Hullett, Jack Anderson, Rio Russell, Branson Popp, and Ben Morris; and

WHEREAS, the team enjoyed the unwavering support of Head Coach David Forrest;
Assistant Coaches Adam Feldbruegge, Greg Imboden, A.C. Sudberry, James Cordero, and
Derrick Pentico; Managers Dustin Whitley, Shelby Wilson, and Kathleen Kim; Athletic Director
Scott Dorsett; and Athletic Trainer Emily Stublijar; and

WHEREAS, The Webb School football team, in both victory and defeat, has displayed the tenacity, camaraderie, and skill befitting one of the State's finest athletic teams; and

WHEREAS, this General Assembly finds it appropriate to acknowledge and applaud The Webb School's 2013 eight-man football team, not only for the team's national success but for the players' superior sportsmanship and the joy they have brought to their fellow students and the people of Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we honor and congratulate Head Coach David Forrest and The Webb School's 2013 eight-man football team for their heralded success as the conference champions and national runner up and extend to them our best wishes for future success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.