## **SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 813**

By Watson

A RESOLUTION to honor and congratulate Baylor School cross country coach Heather Ott on being named Chattanooga Times Free Press Coach of the Year and Addi Greene, Mae Mae Powe, Helen Webb, Xian Campbell, and Garrison Corley on being named to Best of Preps.

WHEREAS, the members of this General Assembly are pleased to recognize an outstanding coach who has built a highly successful cross country program while teaching her charges about the importance of academics, community involvement, and a well-rounded life; and

WHEREAS, Heather Ott is a living legend in Tennessee coaching circles, having led
Baylor School to seven State Championships and two State runner-up finishes in cross country
during the course of her thirty-six years as a coach and English teacher at the school; and

WHEREAS, Heather Ott has coached three individual State champions, and her 2012 squad went undefeated, winning six major meets in addition to the State Championship; and

WHEREAS, at the local level, Coach Ott led the Lady Red Raiders to eight consecutive City Optimist/Front Runner Area Championships (2005-2012) and then added four more consecutive titles (2016-2019); and

WHEREAS, this year marks the sixth time Heather Ott has received the *Chattanooga*Times Free Press Coach of the Year award in recognition of her peerless accomplishments in cross country; and

WHEREAS, she was also named the 2009-2010 Tennessee Coach of the Year for girls' cross country by TSSAA; and

WHEREAS, in the 2021 TSSAA Division II, Class AA Girls' State Cross Country

Championship held in Hendersonville, Coach Ott's runners far surpassed the efforts of other

Chattanooga area schools with an average time of 20 minutes, 3 seconds in the five kilometer race; and

WHEREAS, Baylor cross country athletes Addi Greene, Mae Mae Powe, Helen Webb, Xian Campbell, and Garrison Corley were deservedly named to Best of Preps by the 
Chattanooga Times Free Press for their superior individual performances this year; and 
WHEREAS, Mae Mae Powe previously won the individual State Championship as a

freshman in 2020; and

WHEREAS, Heather Ott has emphasized team building, team concept, and team success as the hallmarks of the Baylor program, and she and her elite runners are worthy of our commendation; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED TWELFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we honor and congratulate Baylor School cross country coach Heather Ott on being named *Chattanooga Times Free Press* Coach of the Year and Addi Greene, Mae Mae Powe, Helen Webb, Xian Campbell, and Garrison Corley on being named to Best of Preps and extend to each of them our best wishes for another championship season in 2022.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.

- 2 - 011647