SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 766

By Bell

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend the coaches and members of the Meigs County High School girls basketball team upon the completion of a successful season.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should salute those student-athletes who, through their extraordinary efforts, have distinguished themselves as true champions of whom we all can be proud; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Meigs County High School Lady Tigers have proven themselves to be the fiercest of competitors and, as such, deserving of the highest regard, as they recently completed a successful season; and

WHEREAS, in capping off their stellar campaign with an appearance in the State

Tournament Final Four, the Lady Tigers achieved an outstanding record of thirty-two wins

against only five losses and went undefeated in the District 3A regular season; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Tigers were Sectional champions, as well as Region 2A

Tournament runner-ups and District 3A Tournament runner-ups; and

WHEREAS, the members of this team include Kelsey Woods, Taylor Boggess, Emileigh Swafford, Megan Lewis, Brandi Kilpatrick, Bailey Perkinson, Madison Hampton, Angel Davis, Alyson Crowder, Candice Smock, Alex Dawson, and Brenna Patterson; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Tigers are fortunate to have the support and leadership of Head Coach Jason Powell, Assistant Coach Niki Long, Scorekeeper Morgan Boggess, and Manager Tory Henry; and

WHEREAS, the players of this prosperous team received numerous awards and recognitions: Emileigh Swafford, Madison Hampton, Brandi Kilpatrick, and Taylor Boggess were named to the All District 3A team; Emileigh Swafford, Madison Hampton, and Taylor

Boggess were named to the All-District 3A Tournament Team; Emileigh Swafford, Brandi Kilpatrick, and Taylor Boggess were named to the All-Region 2A Tournament Team; Emileigh Swafford was named to the All-State Tournament Team; and Emileigh Swafford, Madison Hampton, Angel Davis, Brandi Kilpatrick, and Taylor Boggess were named to the All-Area Team; and

WHEREAS, Emileigh Swafford was also honored with All-District MVP and Best of Preps, a testament to her successful season, as she joined the 2,000-point club with a total of 2,304 career points; and

WHEREAS, Brandi Kilpatrick joined the 1,000-point club with her career total of 1,061 points; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Jason Powell was recognized for his exemplary ability to guide this successful team, as he was named District 3A Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Meigs County High School Lady Tigers epitomize all that is good in today's student-athlete, as they achieved a premier level of success in competition while exhibiting the highest degree of character in all aspects of life; and

WHEREAS, the perseverance, determination, work ethic, and talent of this group of young women not only made possible a championship season, but also surely bode well for their future success; and

WHEREAS, this General Assembly finds it appropriate to pause in its deliberations to acknowledge and applaud the members of the Meigs County High School girls basketball team for their outstanding performance and for serving as examples of the exceptional quality of the youth of Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we hereby honor and congratulate the coaches and members of the Meigs County High School Lady Tigers upon their successful season and extend to them our best wishes for every continued success in all their future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

- 3 **-** 015593