SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 515

By Roberts

A RESOLUTION to honor and congratulate the citizens of the City of White House upon the fiftieth anniversary of the city's incorporation.

WHEREAS, the members of this General Assembly take pleasure in observing special occasions that preserve and celebrate the history of the municipalities that comprise this great State; and

WHEREAS, the citizens of White House are most assuredly deserving of special recognition as they celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of the incorporation of their fair city; and

WHEREAS, in 1970, a group of civic-minded individuals came together to discuss the imminent construction of Interstate Highway 65 through the White House community, with an accompanying exit nearby; they realized that I-65 would promote more travel between Nashville and White House and that growth would occur as a result of this new and speedier route; and

WHEREAS, these city pioneers realized the need for a local government in White House to keep their community livable and took action; boundaries of the proposed city were determined first, and a door-to-door census was then taken; and

WHEREAS, in December 1970, sufficient signatures were collected on two petitions, one for the Sumner County portion of White House and one for the Robertson County portion, to call an election for the incorporation of the City of White House; and

WHEREAS, on January 30, 1971, 142 votes were cast for incorporation and 71 against, and the "City of White House, Tennessee," was duly incorporated under the Mayor-Alderman form of municipal government pursuant to Tennessee State law; and

WHEREAS, a second election was held on March 27, 1971, to elect the Mayor and Aldermen for White House, and a total of 124 citizens cast their ballots; Billy S. Hobbs was

elected the city's first Mayor; Cordell Hester, Joe S. Wilkinson, John W. Smart, and Ronnie Brooks were elected the first Aldermen; and these founding fathers were sworn into office on April 1, 1971; and

WHEREAS, six mayors and sixty-seven aldermen have served the City of White House during its fifty-year history, with Dr. Billy S. Hobbs having served twenty-seven non-consecutive years as Mayor; the current Mayor is Michael Lee Arnold, who is now serving his third term, and the current Aldermen are John Decker, Farris Bibb, Clif Hutson, and John Corbitt; and

WHEREAS, the City of White House has grown exponentially from the first census that counted 749 people to serve as home for nearly 15,000 citizens; and

WHEREAS, originally located in a trailer at a gas station, White House City Hall has occupied a former school building on College Street since 1989; and

WHEREAS, in October 2020, the City of White House broke ground on the construction of a new three-story community center that will also serve as City Hall, with the anticipated completion date being the winter of 2021; and

WHEREAS, in October 2019, the City of White House formed a committee to begin preparations to celebrate its fiftieth anniversary, with two descendants of the original citizens responsible for the city's incorporation serving on the committee; the committee includes Gerald Herman, City Administrator; Derek Watson, Administrative Services Director; Betsy Morris, Administrative Services Assistant; Kevin Whittaker, Parks and Recreation Director; Susan Holcraft, Museum Coordinator; Mandy Christenson representing the Chamber of Commerce; and civic-minded citizens, John Wilkinson, Valerie Webb, Joey Tate, Mark Reid, Fran Hutson, and June Wilkinson; and

WHEREAS, the committee has faithfully met and collaborated to plan and host a Proclamation Ceremony in January 2021, a Birthday Celebration in April 2021, an Evening with

- 2 -

the Arts in September 2021, and a finale celebration with the annual City Christmas Parade in December 2021; and

WHEREAS, the citizens of White House have added and continue to add immeasurably to the strength and character of Tennessee; their history and accomplishments have helped to build the cultural richness for which this State is known; and

WHEREAS, it is most appropriate that the members of this General Assembly should honor this fine community and its citizenry as they commemorate this significant milestone in their historic existence; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED TWELFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we honor and congratulate the citizens of White House upon the fiftieth anniversary of the incorporation of their fair city and extend to them our best wishes for continued success, growth, and prosperity in their outstanding community.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.