## SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 296

## By Johnson

A RESOLUTION to congratulate the Grassland Middle School cheerleading team, 2023 UCA Junior High Game Day National Champions.

WHEREAS, the members of this General Assembly are pleased to specially honor and commend those successful school athletic teams that, through their magnificent exploits, bring honor to Tennessee and serve as exceptional ambassadors of this State; and

WHEREAS, the Grassland Middle School cheerleading squad is one such team, which recently claimed the top spot at the 2023 Universal Cheerleaders Association (UCA) Junior High Game Day National Championship in Orlando, Florida; and

WHEREAS, this year's victory is the third UCA national championship win for the Grassland Middle School cheerleaders, as they also claimed championship laurels in 2020 and 2021, and follows a phenomenal season in which they were named Cougar Classic Jr. High Game Day champion, Cougar Classic School Grand champion, Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association second runner-up, UCA Bluegrass Regional champion, and UCA Smoky Mountain Regional champion; and

WHEREAS, in 2023 UCA competition, the Grassland cheerleaders performed two zerodeduction routines, scoring 96.5 in the preliminary round and ranking first of all teams in that round; in the finals, the squad earned a score of 96.8 to win the title of Junior High Game Day National Champion; and

WHEREAS, the eighth-grade members of this championship cheerleading squad are Tatum Beaird, Sage Boehms, Katie Calandrillo, Keira Grass, Tennyson Lange, Sadie Pagel, Kaia Robison, August Thacker, Rachel White, and Elise Wombacher; and

WHEREAS, the seventh-grade members of this championship cheerleading squad are Lily Barker, Farren Bartlett, Abelie duPre', Liv Garrett, Hadley Glauser, Aspen Langford, Emily Mills, Everly Paavola, Mollie Reed, Tessa Scrima, Abby Spain, Belle Womack, and Kaitlin Zirkle; and

WHEREAS, the sixth-grade members of this championship cheerleading squad are
Molly Allsep, Harper Beaird, Sydney Elmore, Sophie George, Katie Jones, Delaney Kennedy,
Emma Puffer, Karis Robison, Evelyn Wells, and Blaire Wombacher; and

WHEREAS, the Grassland cheerleaders were fortunate to have the invaluable, devoted guidance of coaches Lisa Wheeler, Erin Schueler, and Jennifer Pagel, as well as skills specialists Malik Briggs and Kelly Gerleve; and

WHEREAS, displaying great sportsmanship and outstanding character throughout the season, the members of the Grassland Middle School cheerleading squad have conducted themselves in a manner appropriate to the integrity of the State of Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, the perseverance, determination, work ethic, and talent of this group of young athletes not only made possible a stellar triumph but also surely bode well for their future success; and

WHEREAS, we find it appropriate to acknowledge and applaud the Grassland Middle School cheerleading squad for its outstanding performance; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED THIRTEENTH
GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF
REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we honor and commend the coaches, skills
specialists, and members of the Grassland Middle School cheerleading team on their
commitment to excellence and congratulate them on winning the 2023 Universal Cheerleaders
Association Junior High Game Day National Championship.

- 2 - 004600

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.

- 3 - 004600