SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 204

By Johnson

A RESOLUTION relative to the confirmation of appointments to the advisory board for the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-501, established advisory boards for the University of Tennessee, Knoxville; University of Tennessee at Martin; University of Tennessee at Chattanooga; and University of Tennessee Health Science Center; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-501, provides that the governor shall appoint five (5) members to each advisory board; and

WHEREAS, Governor Bill Haslam has appointed William "Muecke" Barker of Signal Mountain, Fred Decosimo of Signal Mountain, Serina Desai of Chattanooga, Carole Hoffman of Hixson, and Scott LeRoy of Chattanooga to the advisory board for the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga; and

WHEREAS, Muecke Barker, a graduate of the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, is an attorney with Chambliss after a distinguished twenty-five-year career as a judge, including serving as Chief Justice of the Tennessee Supreme Court; and

WHEREAS, Fred Decosimo is a shareholder and certified public accountant with the firm Elliott Davis and has held leadership roles with the University of Chattanooga Foundation and Chattanooga Rotary Club; and

WHEREAS, Serina Desai, a graduate of the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, is a community leader and businesswoman with experience in the software, hotel industry, and real estate industries; and

WHEREAS, Carole Hoffman, a graduate of the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, is the vice president of human resources for Parkridge Health System; and

WHEREAS, Scott LeRoy, a graduate of the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and University of Tennessee College of Law, is an attorney and is vice president and chief operating officer of 2nds in Building Materials, Inc.; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-501, provides that each member appointed by the governor to the advisory boards for the University of Tennessee, Knoxville; University of Tennessee at Martin; University of Tennessee at Chattanooga; and University of Tennessee Health Science Center shall be confirmed by the General Assembly; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED ELEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that this body does hereby confirm the following appointments to the advisory board for the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga: Carole Hoffman for a term that commences July 1, 2018, and expires June 30, 2022; Scott LeRoy for a term that commences July 1, 2018, and expires June 30, 2022; Fred Decosimo for a term that commences July 1, 2018, and expires June 30, 2021; Serina Desai for a term that commences July 1, 2018, and expires June 30, 2021; and William "Muecke" Barker for a term that commences July 1, 2018, and expires June 30, 2020.