SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 43

By Massey

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend Head Coach Rusty
Bradley and the 2012 Christian Academy of
Knoxville football team for winning the TSSAA
Class 3A championship.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should salute those student athletes who, through their extraordinary efforts, have distinguished themselves as true sportsmen of whom all can be proud; and

WHEREAS, the members of the 2012 Christian Academy of Knoxville football team have proven themselves to be the ablest of competitors and, as such, deserving of the highest regard; and

WHEREAS, the CAK Warriors have counted among its members some of the most talented young athletes in Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, under the leadership of Head Coach Rusty Bradley, the 2012 team propelled itself to a 13-1 record and reached the Class 3A BlueCross Bowl, where they faced the team from Milan High School; the Warriors took a commanding lead, ending the game 48-14 and sending Christian Academy of Knoxville to its second championship in a row; and

WHEREAS, the team put on impressive displays on both sides of the ball, with the offensive Most Valuable Player award going to senior quarterback Charlie High; and

WHEREAS, Coach Bradley's leadership and passion for the game are without question, and his principles of playing tenacious defense, controlling the ball on offense, and limiting mistakes were on display throughout the Lions' season; and

WHEREAS, members of the tenacious team include, Ryan Long, John Sharpe, Drew Jost, Franklin Murchison, Whitaker Cunningham, Caleb Dillon, Chris Morgan, Sam Cagle, Michael Sanderson, Baylor Caughorn, Charlie High, Craig Carter, John Broyles, Phillip Nichols,

Davis Howell, Jake Morgenstern, Reagan Matlock, Adam Lovejoy, Trey Hinton, Coby Campbell, Chad Jenkins, Billy Spencer, Cody Bailey, Josh Smith, Conner Amburn, Dylan Rathbone, John Richardson, Wyatt Eaton, Jake Newton, Scott Sizemore, Corey Rathbone, Cole Welch, Bo Layton, Camden Winzenburg, Derek Sokolowski, Mack Winzenburg, Spencer Starke, Michael Thompson, Zac Haga, William Gass, Zach Jenkins, Jon Key, Sean Wagner, Mitchell Kolinsky, Matthew Bell, Guyer Smith, Jim Hahn, David VanderSteeg, Brett Kendrick, Alex Parham, Patrick Dalton, Ben Buchanan, Alec North, John Graham, Scott Walker, John Zavracky, Stephen Pardue, Reece Duncan, Ethan Cage, Davis Hatmaker, Ben Williams, Blake Shuler; and

WHEREAS, in addition to Head Coach Rusty Bradley, the coaching staff includes, Mark Bradley, Kevin Winslett, Roger Toler, Jarvis Reado, Jay Smith, Jeff Hall, Chris Hawkins; along with managers, trainers, and assistants Eric Bailes, Nathan Hoffmeister, Taylor Goins, Billy High, and Chris Cates; and

WHEREAS, the Christian Academy of Knoxville football team, in both victory and defeat, has displayed the tenacity, camaraderie, and skill befitting one of the State's finest athletic teams; and

WHEREAS, this General Assembly finds it appropriate to pause in its deliberations to acknowledge and applaud the 2012 Christian Academy of Knoxville football team, not only for the team's championship win but for the players' superior sportsmanship and the joy they have brought to their fellow students and the people of Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we honor and congratulate Head Coach Rusty Bradley and the 2012 CAK football team for winning the TSSAA Class 3A football state championship and extend to them our best wishes for future success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.