<BillNo> <Sponsor>

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 31

By Norris

A RESOLUTION relative to the confirmation of appointments to the state university board of Tennessee Technological University.

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-101, provides for the governance of Tennessee Technological University by a state university board; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201, provides that the governor shall appoint eight (8) members to the state university board of Tennessee Technological University; and

WHEREAS, the eight (8) gubernatorial appointees of the state university board of Tennessee Technological University shall be joined by a faculty member of the institution who shall be selected by a method determined by the faculty senate and a non-voting student member who shall be appointed by the state university board; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201, further provides that at least three (3) of the gubernatorial appointees shall be alumni of the institution for which they are serving and that at least six (6) of the nine (9) voting members of the state university board shall be residents of the state of Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201(f)(2)(A), provides that the initial terms of the members appointed by the governor to a state university board shall be three (3), four (4), and six (6) years. Three (3) members shall serve a three-year term; three (3) members shall serve a four-year term; and two (2) members shall serve a six-year term; and

WHEREAS, Governor Bill Haslam has appointed Millard Oakley of Livingston, Johnny Stites of Cookeville, and Teresa Vanhooser of Rogersville to the state university board of Tennessee Technological University, each for a term of three (3) years; and

WHEREAS, Governor Bill Haslam has appointed Dr. Barbara Fleming of Cookeville, Purna Saggurti of Warren, New Jersey, and Barry Wilmore of Webster, Texas, to the state university board of Tennessee Technological University, each for a term of four (4) years; and

WHEREAS, Governor Bill Haslam has appointed Trudy Harper of Soddy Daisy and Tom Jones of Cookeville to the state university board of Tennessee Technological University, each for a term of six (6) years; and

WHEREAS, Millard Oakley is the principal shareholder of the First National Bank of Tennessee; he is a graduate of Tennessee Technological University and Cumberland University School of Law; and

WHEREAS, Johnny Stites has served as managing partner of XI Investments for more than twenty-five years; he is a graduate of Abilene Christian University; and

WHEREAS, Teresa Vanhooser is a senior consultant with Seabrook Solutions, LLC, after pursuing a career with the National Aeronautics and Space Administration that saw her rise to the position of deputy director of the Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Alabama; she is a graduate of Tennessee Technological University and the University of Alabama, Huntsville; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Barbara Fleming is a physician and a graduate of Tennessee Technological University, Auburn University, Cornell University, and the University of Maryland; and

WHEREAS, Purna Saggurti serves as global chair of investment banking for Bank of America Merrill Lynch; he is a graduate of Andhra University, Tennessee Technological University, and the Wharton School; and

WHEREAS, Barry Wilmore is a National Aeronautics and Space Administration astronaut and a captain in the United States Navy. He holds both graduate and undergraduate degrees from Tennessee Technological University and a graduate degree from the University of Tennessee; and WHEREAS, Trudy Harper enjoyed a long career with the Texas Utilities Electric Company and Tenaska, founding and serving as president of Tenaska Power Services Company; she holds both an undergraduate and graduate degree in electrical engineering from Tennessee Technological University; and

WHEREAS, Tom Jones is co-owner and general manager of Research Electronics International; he holds a degree in electrical engineering from Tennessee Technological University; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-8-201, provides that each member appointed by the governor to the state university board of Tennessee Technological University shall be subject to confirmation by the senate and the house of representatives; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED TENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Millard Oakley to the state university board of Tennessee Technological University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2020.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Johnny Stites to the state university board of Tennessee Technological University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2020.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Teresa Vanhooser to the state university board of Tennessee Technological University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2020.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Dr. Barbara Fleming to the state university board of Tennessee Technological University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2021.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Purna Saggurti to the state university board of Tennessee Technological University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2021.

- 3 -

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Barry Wilmore to the state university board of Tennessee Technological University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2021.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Trudy Harper to the state university board of Tennessee Technological University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2023.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Tom Jones to the state university board of Tennessee Technological University for a term that will expire on June 30, 2023.