## SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 7

## By Massey

A RESOLUTION to honor and congratulate the West High School Rebels football team, TSSAA Division I, Class 5A state champions.

WHEREAS, the members of this General Assembly are pleased to specially honor and commend those successful high school teams that, through their magnificent exploits, bring honor to Tennessee and serve as exceptional ambassadors for this State; and

WHEREAS, the West High School football team achieved an extraordinary level of success during the 2022 season, winning the coveted Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association (TSSAA) Division I, Class 5A State Football Championship; and

WHEREAS, the Rebels rolled over their competition on their way to the BlueCross Bowl championship game on December 2, 2022, at Finley Stadium in Chattanooga, where they resoundingly defeated Page High School 47-13 in the title matchup; and

WHEREAS, with the victory, the West Rebels completed their first undefeated season in school history and claimed their second football state championship, having first hoisted the iconic golden football trophy back in 2014; and

WHEREAS, state championships are achieved only through hard work, dedication, and the ability to work together as a team and excel with a cooperative spirit; the Rebels exhibited each of these rare qualities during their championship season; and

WHEREAS, the football players of West High School epitomize all that is good in today's student athletes, as they have achieved the highest level of success on the field while showing the highest degree of character both on and off the field; they inspired their fellow students and united the entire community during their triumphant run through the 2022 season; and

WHEREAS, the members of this championship football team are: Antwain Burdine, Jaqurius Wrenn, Marshun Bowers, John Carlevato, Brock Hatcher, Syxx Hoard, Devin Jamison, Cayden Latham, Carson Jessie, Silas Cole, Hunter Dance, Omarii McCleary, David Drata, Brayden Latham, Ryan Scott, Tyson Siebe, Kai Beasley, Anderson Smith, Parker Dubon, Ben Conger, Brison Leyva, Tate Carty, Elijah Garner, Anterius McAllister, Cline Johansen, Dominic Davis, Kelin Rucker, Jack Keith, Rohin Sharma, Jack Lavelle, Sam Lavelle, Abel Ancelet, Tavion Ray, Isaiah Tate, Corson Potter, Aeman Mohammed, Thad Sterling, Jordan Hayes, Blake Ostendorf, Blake Thackston, Jones Bollig, Seth Fain, R.J. Brooks, Sergio Rodriguez, C.J. Smith, Aidan Gouty, Braxton Morgan, Wyatt Deroche, Alex Valladares, Joey Wilson, Jake Legg, Chase Brody, Evan Fields, Camarin Leggitt, Quandarius Hayes, Stephen Johnson, Jameiyes Mills, Jackson Lewis, Cannon Dowd, Bryce Skinnell, Jamir Turner, Zain Fadhil, Pete Rogers, John Sartelle, Diego Tomas, Brodie McFalls, Pedro Alvarado, Oliver Schimmel, Jack Codevilla, Nick Ernst, Dale Campbell, Christian Rodriguez, John Whitesell, Ethan Lopez, D'Shaun Battle, Bradley Dickey III, Jones Conner, David Mebane, Patton Dewalt, Justus McMillian, Jack Hankins, Hunter Stanley, Jack Rappe, Jacob Daggy, Miles Morgan, Reilly Mannon, Tyson Butler, Kenyon Hudson, Sam Hudson, Corey Person, Zarrion Youmas, Patrick Schmid, Nalijsha Dickey, Tavion Ray, and Daivs Neely; and

WHEREAS, the dedication, determination, work ethic, and talent of this group of young men not only made possible a championship football season but also surely bode well for their success in every future endeavor; and

WHEREAS, the West Rebels enjoy the leadership and football knowledge of Head
Coach Lamar Brown and an extraordinary coaching staff composed of Scott Shaver, Director of
Football Operations; Nat Scott, Assistant Head Coach/Wide Receivers; Barron Chandler,
Defensive Coordinator/Inside Linebackers; Dustin Lyles, Offensive Coordinator/Offensive
Linemen; Rodney Ellerbee, Special Teams Coordinator/Tight Ends; Chad Brooks, Running

- 2 - 000819

Backs; Morgan Shaver, Defensive Linemen; Jamie Holbrook, Outside Linebackers; and D.J. Roberts, Defensive Backs; and

WHEREAS, we find it appropriate to acknowledge and applaud the football players of West High School for serving as exemplars of the high quality of the youth of Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED THIRTEENTH

GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE HOUSE OF

REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, that we honor and congratulate the players, coaching staff, team support staff, administrators, cheerleaders, and fans of the West High School Rebels football team on winning the 2022 TSSAA Division I, Class 5A State Football Championship.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.

- 3 - 000819