<BillNo> <Sponsor>

## **HOUSE RESOLUTION 89**

## By Gilmore

A RESOLUTION to honor and congratulate the Maplewood High School boys' basketball team upon winning the TSSAA Division I Class AA State Championship.

WHEREAS, the members of this legislative body are pleased to specially honor and commend those successful school athletic teams that, through their magnificent exploits, bring honor to Tennessee and serve as exceptional ambassadors of this State; and

WHEREAS, one such exemplary group of student athletes is the Maplewood High School boys' basketball team, which achieved an extraordinary level of success during the 2016-2017 season by capturing the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association (TSSAA) Division I Class AA State Championship; and

WHEREAS, traveling to the Murphy Center at Middle Tennessee State University

(MTSU), the Maplewood Panthers made their way across the bracket by defeating Sullivan East

High School by a score of 71-55 and Haywood High School by a score of 57-56; and

WHEREAS, their final opponents were the Knoxville Catholic High School Fighting Irish. Maplewood led in points for most of the game, but Knoxville Catholic never trailed far behind; through exceptional teamwork and stalwart perseverance, the young men from Maplewood maintained their lead and defeated the Fighting Irish by a final score of 60-57; and

WHEREAS, the tremendous victory is the first state championship for Maplewood High School and the first for a Metro Nashville boys' team since 1996; the team enjoyed an overall season record of 29-7; and

WHEREAS, this magnificent team includes Joshua Osborne, Warren Fisher, Timetric "Bo" Hodges, Craig Blackshear, Timotheus "Bobo" Hodges, Deshawn Johnson, Justin Cross,

Jaylen Alexander, Anthony Cockrill, Robert Wilcox, Marcus Rhodes, Austin Anderson, and Hassan Littlepage; and

WHEREAS, Panthers Hassan Littlepage, Robert Wilcox, and Timotheus Hodges were all named to the All-State Tournament team, and two-time Mr. Basketball Timetric Hodges was chosen as the Class AA Tournament Most Valuable Player; and

WHEREAS, these state champions all benefited from the vast knowledge and stellar guidance of their head coach, Tyron Wilson, who won the title of 2016-2017 Coach of the Year, and assistant coaches, John Hopson and Jaleel Queary; and

WHEREAS, this beloved team also received additional support and encouragement from their executive principal Dr. Keely Jones-Mason, athletic principal, Dr. Marvin Olige, athletic business manager, Eric Townsend, and academic affairs manager, Michelle Scott-Long; and

WHEREAS, the young men of the Maplewood High School boys' basketball team have displayed ability, teamwork, and perseverance, and with the help of their coaches, parents, teachers, school administrators, supporters, and many fans, they have represented their school and the State of Tennessee in fine fashion, displaying peerless character both on and off the basketball court; and

WHEREAS, during this incredible championship season, the members of the Maplewood Panthers etched their names into the annals of Tennessee sports history; their dedication, determination, work ethic, and talent not only made possible a successful and memorable basketball season but also surely point toward their success in future endeavors; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED TENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, that we hereby honor and congratulate the Maplewood High School boys' basketball team upon winning the TSSAA Division I Class AA State Championship and extend to them our best wishes for every future success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.