<BillNo> <Sponsor>

HOUSE RESOLUTION 1

By Camper

A RESOLUTION to honor Eureka Lodge #3 and Eureka Chapter #241 in Memphis upon the celebration of their Inaugural Master and Matron Banquet.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should salute those fraternal organizations that, through their extraordinary efforts and tireless service to the public, have distinguished themselves as institutions of which we can be proud; and

WHEREAS, Eureka Lodge #3 and Eureka Chapter #241 in Memphis are celebrating the Inaugural Master and Matron Banquet this year, a landmark occasion in the organization's illustrious history; and

WHEREAS, a celebration in honor of the Master and Matron Banquet was held on January 14, 2023, under the theme "Education of our Youth"; the keynote speaker was the Honorable Mayor Marco McClendon, whose message was "Youth are the Future"; and

WHEREAS, organized on March 28, 1874, as Eureka Lodge U.D. (under dispensation) with Most Worshipful Grand Master G.W. Levers presiding, the organizational lodge met under dispensation in King Solomon Hall, and a Letter of Dispensation was granted to Senior Warden William O.D. Neal, who was later elected Worshipful Master. Brother Charles Hooks was elected secretary of the lodge; and

WHEREAS, on August 20, 1875, Eureka Lodge was granted a charter and was initially known as Eureka Lodge #10; an integral organization in the Memphis community, the history of the lodge includes the names of some of the most prominent citizens of the Bluff City; and

WHEREAS, on April 3, 1925, with Worshipful Master George W. Hulsey officiating, Eureka Lodge conferred the first degree of Masonry on Reverend Charles F. Williams, and on June 5th of that same year, Reverend Williams became a full member of the lodge; in June 1938, Reverend Williams was elected Worshipful Master of Eureka Lodge, which at that time had forty-five members and one penny in the treasury; eight years later, in 1946, he was elected Most Worshipful Grand Master of the State of Tennessee, and by that time, Eureka Lodge had grown to 511 members and boasted more than \$5,000 in the treasury; and

WHEREAS, united in fellowship, members of the OES are dedicated men and women who sincerely reflect the spirit of fraternal love and the desire to work together for good, both for the satisfaction of helping others and for the goodness of contributing to the betterment of mankind; and

WHEREAS, founded on September 6, 1940, Eureka Chapter No. 241 had an initial membership of fifteen. In addition to Worthy Matron James Williams and Worthy Patron Bedford Weakley, who led the fledgling group, the founding membership consisted of Henrietta Lewis, Hattie Pentleton Wothens, Vashti Cole, Lillian Moore Shelton, Mattie Pearl Edmondson, Jaline Grimes, Hattie Foster, Vernel Carthen, Caranetta BoBo, Mable Chambers, Frankie L. Carter, Rosie B. Whitson, and F.L. Brewster; and

WHEREAS, today, Eureka Chapter No. 241 is a vibrant organization, and its members are devoted to the principles and mission of the OES and to the improvement of their communities, their cities, and this State; and

WHEREAS, honored past masters of Eureka Lodge #3 include Samuel Anderson, James A. Blankenship, John H. Canada, Joseph K. Carr, Shawn Douglass, Charles D. Graham, Felix Griggs, Jerry Kimble, Edward H. Lindsey, Willie Lowe, Brandon Martin, Ike Mason, Dennis Murphy, Sr., Mack H. Reed, Reverend Stanley T. Richardson, Jr., Lemonte Spencer, Lloyd E. Stovall, Harold L. Taylor, Joe Taylor, Jr., Tracy E. White, Ezell Williams, Frederick Tennial, Jerome McGee; and

- 2 -

WHEREAS, Honored Past Matrons of Eureka Chapter #241 include Darletha Richard, LaVinia Davis, Leanora Hawkins, Deanna Peppers, Karen Camper, Alyson Nabor, Thymia Rogers, Annye Hughes, Patricia Murphy, Olivia Kirk, Barbara Richardson, Jackie Brown-Aaradondo, Donna Renfro, Juanita Graham, LaVerne Williams, Bessie O'Connor, Charlie Mae Reed, Joyce Glass, and Hazel Moore; and

WHEREAS, current officers of Eureka Lodge #3 are Kelly D. Price, Worshipful Master; Edward Willington, Senior Deacon; Alexander Cade, Senior Warden; Zachary Taylor, Junior Deacon; Darious Scott, Junior Warden; John Canada, Senior Steward; Phil Pontoo, Treasurer; Luke Curtis, Junior Steward; Johnnie Young, Secretary; Devin McNairy, Tyler; Charlie Tipton, Chaplain; and KShaun Britt, Marshall; and

WHEREAS, current officers of Eureka Chapter #241 include Sis. Andrea Hawkins, Bro. Jovan Williams, Sis. Starlette Price, Bro. Kelly Price, Sis. Leanora Hawkins (PM), Sis. Emily Golden, Sis. Tonya Brown, and Sis. Shawonda Cox; and

WHEREAS, in addition to the accomplishments in Eureka Lodge and Eureka Chapter #241, members have established or revitalized other lodges and chapters; members of Eureka Lodge and Eureka Chapter possess a variety of talents, which they willingly place at the disposal of the Lodge and the Masonic Fraternity; and

WHEREAS, Eureka Lodge #3 and Eureka Chapter #241 have fostered a membership that has devoted itself to perpetuating the public good and service to the community, and it is fitting that this entity be honored on this special occasion; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED THIRTEENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, that we hereby recognize and commend Eureka Lodge #3 and Eureka Chapter #241 upon the occasion of their Master and Matron Banquet, extending our best wishes for continued success in the future.

- 3 -

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.