HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 1355

By Odom

A RESOLUTION to recognize and commend the joint staff of the One Hundred Sixth General Assembly.

WHEREAS, it is especially fitting that the members of this General Assembly should pause in our deliberations to recognize and commend our legislative employees; and

WHEREAS, these individuals exhibit the highest levels of professionalism, determination, and dedication each and every day, often laboring long hours under trying conditions; and

WHEREAS, the Office of Legal Services for the General Assembly prepares and assists in the preparation of legislation and amendments, reviews legislation as to form and style, provides legal research staff services to committees, provides abstracts and summaries of proposed legislation, and drafts resolutions and proclamations; and

WHEREAS, its staff, under the able leadership of Director Joseph Barnes, includes Chief Deputy Tom Tigue, Al Beasley, Laresha Bland, Anastasia Campbell, Jamie Clariday, Linda Collier, Wade Dye, Doug Garrett, Karen Garrett, Lucian Geise, Jess Hale, Tomi Hall, Brian Heath, Doug Himes, Derik Hultquist, Elizabeth Insogna, Helen James, Sean McMinn, Megan Moore, Jackie Nash, Shelley Nevitt, Paige Seals, Julie Smith, David Sprouse, Fred Standbrook, Sally Swaney, Eddie Weeks, and Sandra Whitmore, and session employees, Philip Alexander, Claire Draper, Kelle Foor, Mark Harrod, Gwen McCullough, Joshua Stepp, Tamna Taylor, and Holly Young; and

WHEREAS, the employees of Legislative Information Services are dedicated to protecting and preserving the legislature's computer operations, maintaining the various networks used by legislative members and staff, and ensuring the broadcast of floor sessions and committee meetings; and WHEREAS, Legislative Information Services is under the capable leadership of Director Steve Kriegish, and its staff includes Sheryl Alexander, Carolyn Anderson, Belinda Bannister, Reggie Bigord, Kerry Bryan, George Buckner, Deb Cassetty, Jason Dunnivant, Lisa Guess, Donal Haggard, Tim Harris, Brian Lewis, Bob Morrow, Alan Osborne, Susan Starr, Will Thompson, Bob Trezise, and Brian Warner; and

WHEREAS, the astute employees of the Legislative Administration office keep track of personnel records and purchases, maintain all insurance and benefits information, oversee the internship program, and distribute items needed for legislative work; and

WHEREAS, guided by Director Connie Ridley, the office consists of Alice Abbey, Glenn Barber, Lynn Kovach, Theron Lacy, Tammy Rather, Brenda St. John, and Priscilla Warrington, and Intern Program Coordinator Donna Morgan; and

WHEREAS, the Fiscal Review Committee plays a vital role in the legislative process by compiling fiscal notes, which accurately inform members of the financial impact each piece of legislation will have if passed or adopted; and

WHEREAS, its employees, under the leadership of Executive Director Jim White, are Kathryn Chastain, Leni Chick, Dan Cooper, Robert Currey, Scott Grammer, Samantha Law, Adam Lister, Krista Lee, Judy Richardson, Randi Troutt, and Joseph Wegenka; and

WHEREAS, the Office of Legislative Budget Analysis is responsible for conducting detailed analyses of the State's budget and the status and condition of financing State programs, and is staffed by Director David Thurman, Roark Brown, Annette Crutchfield, Bruce Davis, Cathy Higgins, Leonora Kellman, and Nancy Townsend; and

WHEREAS, Latonya Ellis serves as the Executive Director of the Health Equity Commission; and

WHEREAS, the Office of Minority Affairs is staffed by Yolanda Arnold and Yolanda Dancer; and

WHEREAS, the Select Oversight Committee on TennCare is staffed by Melvin Everette and Ryan Bouldin; and

WHEREAS, the Select Committee on Children and Youth is served by Cindy Perry and Debbie Gazzaway; and

WHEREAS, the Select Oversight Committee on Corrections is served by Bob McKee and Judy Sullivan; and

WHEREAS, the Facilities Management staff, under the guidance of Facility Administrator Skip Butler, includes Terra Burnley, Josh Church, Fred Feild, Herbert Malone, Homer Malone, Gloria Nunn, Ken White, and Corey Williams; the Mail Room staff consists of Kenny Rainey, Robert Robertson, and David Peeler; and

WHEREAS, Legislative Nurse Diane Hall is always prepared to attend to the health needs of legislative employees and members; and

WHEREAS, the exemplary assistance provided by each of these joint legislative employees is essential to the efficient and orderly operation of this Body, and it is fitting that we pause to express our deep appreciation for their professional and dedicated services; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED SIXTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we hereby honor and commend each and every employee of the Office of Legal Services, Legislative Information Services, Legislative Administration, the Fiscal Review Committee, the Office of Legislative Budget Analysis, the Office of Minority Affairs, the Select Committee on Children and Youth, the Select Oversight Committee on Corrections, Facilities Management, and the Legislative Nurse for their professional approach to their respective duties, their numerous abilities, their willingness to work in difficult situations and circumstances, their dedication to the legislative process, and their loyalty to the members of this Body.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation for each person named above, with this final clause omitted from such copies.

- 3 -