## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 1290**

## By Hawk

A RESOLUTION to confirm the appointment of Amy E. Miles to the board of trustees of the University of Tennessee.

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-201, as amended by Chapter 657 of the Public Acts of 2018, provides for the governance of the University of Tennessee by the board of trustees; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-202, as amended by Chapter 657 of the Public Acts of 2018, provides that the governor shall appoint ten (10) members to the board of trustees of the University of Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, Governor Bill Haslam has appointed Amy E. Miles of Alcoa to the board of trustees of the University of Tennessee to a term that commences July 1, 2018, and expires June 30, 2022; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Miles is the former chief executive officer and chair of the board of directors of Regal Entertainment Group, where she held previous roles as executive vice president, chief financial officer, and treasurer and also served as an executive for Regal Cinemas, Inc.; and

WHEREAS, before joining Regal, Ms. Miles was a senior manager with Deloitte & Touche LLP after several years with PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Miles earned a Bachelor of Science in Accounting from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville; she received the Distinguished Alumna Award from the university in 2015; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Miles also serves on the board of directors of Norfolk Southern

Corporation and brings substantial experience and knowledge to the board of trustees; and

WHEREAS, Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 49-9-202, as amended, provides that each member appointed by the governor to the board of trustees of the University of Tennessee shall be confirmed by the General Assembly; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED TENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that this body does hereby confirm the appointment of Amy E. Miles to the board of trustees of the University of Tennessee for a term that commences July 1, 2018, and expires June 30, 2022.