HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 1187

By Richey

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend Corporal FTO Matthew Watson of the Maryville Police Department.

WHEREAS, our nation was conceived by individuals who were willing to sacrifice their personal concerns to ensure the public's safety and welfare, and the Volunteer State is especially proud to be the home of so many valiant men and women who have performed above and beyond the call of duty in service of public safety; and

WHEREAS, thousands of Tennesseans have continued the time-honored tradition of service in law enforcement, dedicating their time and efforts to aiding those in emergency situations and apprehending those who have broken the law; and

WHEREAS, Corporal FTO Matthew Watson of the Maryville Police Department is one such courageous law enforcement professional, who has epitomized the highest ideals of public service and contributed greatly to the safety of the citizens of Maryville and Blount County; and

WHEREAS, throughout his seven years of service as a member of the Maryville Police Department, Corporal FTO Watson has displayed the spirit and commitment to family and community that are characteristic of a true Tennessean; and

WHEREAS, we find it appropriate to acknowledge and applaud Corporal FTO Matthew Watson for his dedication to law enforcement and the citizens of this State; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED THIRTEENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we honor and commend Corporal FTO Matthew Watson of the Maryville Police Department for his meritorious service to the citizens of Maryville, Blount County, and the State of Tennessee and extend to him our best wishes for every future success. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.