HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 1165

By Ragan

A RESOLUTION to honor the Civil Air Patrol Cadets comprising the 2014 Tennessee Wing Drill Team and Color Guard.

WHEREAS, at a time when this nation's youth face difficult challenges, the United States Air Force Auxiliary, Civil Air Patrol Cadet Program, is one of our finest assets, providing young men and women ages twelve through twenty-one with an educational program that contributes significantly to their character development, teamwork, citizenship training, aerospace knowledge, leadership training, and improved mental and physical fitness; and

WHEREAS, after five months of considerable effort and diligent preparation, fourteen members of the Tennessee Wing Drill Team of the Civil Air Patrol and five members of the Tennessee Wing Color Guard from various squadrons all across the great State of Tennessee won 1st place and 3rd place, respectively, in the annual Southeast Region Cadet Competition at Maxwell Air Force Base in Montgomery, Alabama, April 4-6, 2014; and

WHEREAS, in order to garner such a highly respected achievement, members of the Tennessee Wing Drill Team competed in seven events, In-Ranks Inspection, Standard Drill, Volleyball, Innovative Drill, Written Examination, Mile Run, and Panel Quiz, each of which demands efficient organization, time management, and leadership skills, and won 1st place in six of the events; and

WHEREAS, members of the Tennessee Wing Color Guard competed in seven events, In-Ranks Inspection, Standard Drill, Indoor Practical Drill, Outdoor Practical Drill, Written Examination, Mile Run, and Panel Quiz, each of which demands effective teamwork and leadership skills by the team members, most of whom have been Civil Air Patrol cadets for less than two years; and WHEREAS, the members of the Tennessee Wing Drill Team, which won 1st place in the Drill Competition, are: Cadet Lieutenant Colonel Casey Jean Brinegar, Team Commander, Cadet Lieutenant Colonel Abigail Dickerson, who tied for the "Academic" award recognizing the highest score on the Written exam and the "Fleetfoot" award for the fastest Mile Run (female) for the third consecutive year, Cadet Lieutenant Colonel Timothy Caleb Brinegar, who as the Drill Team Commander led the team to a 1st place finish at the 2013 National Cadet Competition, Cadet Major Elliott Schwahn, Cadet Major Joshua Brinegar, Cadet Captain Barak Roberts, who won the "Fleetfoot" award for the fastest Mile Run (male), Cadet 2nd Lieutenant Samuel Dickerson, Cadet 2nd Lieutenant Karilynn Samuelson, Cadet 2nd Lieutenant Samuel West, Cadet Chief Master Sergeant Cody Ditchfield, Cadet Chief Master Sergeant Adam Walker, Cadet Master Sergeant Imanuel Boardman, Cadet Master Sergeant Alexander Horrocks, and Cadet Technical Sergeant Edward Brown; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Tennessee Wing Color Guard, which won 3rd place in the Color Guard Competition, are: Cadet Chief Master Sergeant Michael Thomas, Color Guard Commander, Cadet Master Sergeant Alexander Madden, Cadet Airman Patrick May, Cadet Chief Master Sergeant Kaylie Niehaus, and Cadet Chief Master Sergeant William Howard; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting that this General Assembly should pause to recognize these extraordinary young men and women as some of the most outstanding young people in our State; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we honor and commend the members of the Tennessee Wing Drill Team and Color Guard for their meritorious service to the State of Tennessee, congratulate them on their achievements, and extend to them our best wishes for every future success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.