HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 1156

By Rudd

A RESOLUTION to honor William Gregory Elliott upon his induction into the Tennessee Aviation Hall of Fame.

WHEREAS, it is the pleasure of the members of this General Assembly to salute William Gregory Elliott for his lifetime of extraordinary achievement and service to aviation in the State of Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, Greg Elliott will be inducted into the Tennessee Aviation Hall of Fame in Murfreesboro in a ceremony to be held on October 24, 2020; and

WHEREAS, retiring after a highly distinguished thirty-year career with the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation (TBI), Mr. Elliott was a founding member of the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation's aviation program and played an instrumental role in the development and growth of the Aviation Unit; and

WHEREAS, Greg Elliott served as Chief Pilot of the Aviation Unit from 2007 until his retirement in 2019; under his guidance and training of the unit, the TBI Aviation Unit logged over 6,000 total flight hours without an accident; and

WHEREAS, during his thirty years with the TBI, Mr. Elliot unquestionably made a lasting contribution to law enforcement aviation in Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, Greg Elliott epitomizes the spirit and commitment that are characteristic of a true Tennessean; and

WHEREAS, the members of this General Assembly find it appropriate to acknowledge and applaud Mr. Elliott for his dedication to the State of Tennessee and its citizens; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED ELEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we congratulate William Gregory Elliott upon his induction into the Tennessee Aviation Hall of Fame and extend to him our best wishes for every continued success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.