HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 1100

By Evans

A RESOLUTION to recognize and commend Leadership Middle Tennessee and its Class of 2014 for laudable service to the people of Tennessee.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should pause to specially recognize those estimable organizations that encourage success and effective leadership by their participants; and

WHEREAS, one such notable organization is Leadership Middle Tennessee, a regional leadership institute established in 1999, which serves the ten-county area of Cheatham, Davidson, Dickson, Maury, Montgomery, Robertson, Rutherford, Sumner, Williamson, and Wilson counties in Middle Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, entering the 21st Century, the communities of Middle Tennessee face many challenges in common with communities across the nation, as rapid growth and urbanization cause a blurring of traditional and historic civic boundaries; communities with sufficient foresight to recognize the changing dynamic will survive and thrive; and

WHEREAS, to succeed, Middle Tennessee's community leaders must develop a unity of purpose and meet regional challenges with regional vision – such is the mission of Leadership Middle Tennessee – to contribute to future planned and sustainable economic and community growth and development in the area by the participation of community, business, and government leaders in an annual regional leadership program and subsequent alumni activities designed to encourage and promote a regional perspective on current issues; and

WHEREAS, the membership of the Leadership Middle Tennessee Class of 2014 are:
Frazier Allen, Daniel Binkley, Valerie Hunter-Kelley, and Brian Taylor of Montgomery County;
Amy Arnold-Martin, Brendi Kaplan, Beverly Keel, Lynn Maddox, Katherine Sheesley, and Ellen

Zinkiewicz of Davidson County; Valerie Drier and Larry Roberts of Cheatham County; Camille Burdine, Kim Parks, and Robert Porter of Wilson County; Karen Couts of Robertson County; Chip Hoover, Tom Keith, and Richard Stone of Rutherford County; David Gould, Paula Harris, Luis Parodi, and Elke Ridenour of Williamson County; Anthony Nelson Tate and Matt Neal of Sumner County; Tiffany Howard and Berrie Pate of Maury County; and Shane Chandler, Gary Fouts, and Mendy Mazzo of Dickson County; and

WHEREAS, focusing on leadership development and regional collaboration, Leadership Middle Tennessee's program consists of ten sessions plus an introductory session, commencing in September, with a special graduation ceremony in May; and

WHEREAS, Leadership Middle Tennessee recently hosted its Class of 2014, guiding its members through the nine-month program that covered a wide variety of subjects; and

WHEREAS, the topics covered by the Class of 2014 were: Teambuilding and Regionalism; Healthcare and Quality of Life Issues; Agriculture in Middle Tennessee; Sports, Leisure and Tourism; Education, Workforce Development, and Fort Campbell; Preservation; Justice System and the Judiciary; Legislative: Public Policy, Politics, and Economic Development; Technology Advancements; Housing; Transportation; and Natural Resources and Environmental Issues; and

WHEREAS, attending the monthly meetings at the various locations around Middle

Tennessee, the members of the Class of 2014 each shared a personal story about their life with
the group; strong friendships and relationships have been formed as a result; and

WHEREAS, Leadership Middle Tennessee also sponsors an alumni association of graduates, which, as it grows, will help leverage the benefits of the ongoing program by creating a growing network of local leaders with a regional perspective, providing a rich source of contributors to the curriculum of future classes, as well as serving as a source for nominations of participants in future classes, and becoming an overall regional asset; and

WHEREAS, through all of its activities, Leadership Middle Tennessee has successfully provided a basis for the cities, communities, and counties of Middle Tennessee to work more effectively together and has empowered the Class of 2014 to enhance this effort; and

WHEREAS, for many years the Leadership Middle Tennessee program has enjoyed the exceptional leadership and dedication of Executive Director Susan Taylor, who is taking her much deserved retirement this year; and

WHEREAS, Leadership Middle Tennessee also enjoys the commitment of board officers Seab Tuck, Chairman; Deborah Varallo, Chairman-Elect; Paul Stumb, Secretary; Gina Scott, Treasurer; and Jack B. Turner, Immediate Past Chairman, who led the board for many years, and the able leadership of the full board of directors; and

WHEREAS, the Class of 2014 of Leadership Middle Tennessee is wholly committed to the noble precepts of public service that have earned Tennessee recognition as the "Volunteer State," and this worthy group should be specially recognized; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we hereby commend the members of the Leadership Middle Tennessee Class of 2014 for their laudable service to the people of Middle Tennessee and this State and thank Leadership Middle Tennessee and its graduates for striving to improve the quality of life for their fellow citizens.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

- 3 - 016277