## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 951**

By Faison

A RESOLUTION to honor the public safety professionals and departments of Jefferson County, recipients of the First Tennessee Bank Jefferson Countian of the Year Award

WHEREAS, it is appropriate that this General Assembly should honor those public servants who protect and serve the citizens of the State of Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, First Tennessee Bank recently presented its Jefferson Countian of the Year Award to Jefferson County's public safety professionals in recognition of their integral service to their community; and

WHEREAS, the departments and agencies honored by this award include Jefferson
County Emergency Medical Services and Emergency Management Agency, Jefferson County
E-911, Jefferson County Rescue Squad, Jefferson County Sheriff's Department, Jefferson
County Medical Examiner, Jefferson Memorial Hospital, Dandridge Fire Department, Dandridge
Police Department, Dandridge Public Works, White Pine Police Department, White Pine Fire
Department, White Pine Public Works, Jefferson City Fire Department, Jefferson City Police
Department, New Market Volunteer Fire Department, Lakeway Central Volunteer Fire
Department, and Chestnut Hill Volunteer Fire Department; and

WHEREAS, the members of these departments are always ready to come to the aid of Tennesseans, and in 2013, these departments responded to more than 58,000 emergency situations; and

WHEREAS, on October 2, 2013, these organizations responded to a tragic incident on I-40 with courage and skill in which they prepared fourteen victims in serious condition for transport to hospitals within forty-five minutes, an extraordinary feat requiring exceptional coordination and teamwork; and

WHEREAS, the Dandridge Police Department deftly managed fourteen hours of traffic diversion, and the Jefferson County Rescue Squad and the Red Cross created a rehab area to provide food and water; and

WHEREAS, the fire departments coordinated fire coverage through mutual aid agreements with surrounding counties and local departments while managing a staging area for incoming emergency responders; and

WHEREAS, the Jefferson County Sherriff's Department assisted emergency responders with removing victims from the interior of vehicles and helped manage bystanders; and

WHEREAS, in total, the emergency responders spent over 1,600 man-hours responding to the incident; and

WHEREAS, at the presentation of the First Tennessee Bank Jefferson Countian of the Year Award, the following individuals representative of their respective departments were specially recognized: Brad Phillips, Justin Crowder, J. Ray Walker, Bud McCoig, Dr. Emmett Manley, Colin McRae, Andy Riley, Carson Williams, Kevin Bunch, Gregg Gann, Chad Cotter, Alyson Susong, Bob Hardy, Lee Turner, Ken Davis, Frank Solomon, Joe Devotie, and George Owenby; and

WHEREAS, the citizens of Jefferson County can depend upon these brave men and women in a time of crisis, and the members of the emergency response organizations of Jefferson County should be specially recognized; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we hereby honor the members of Jefferson County's public safety professions, congratulate them on receiving the First Tennessee Bank Jefferson Countian of the Year Award, and extend our sincere thanks for their vital contribution to public safety.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.