## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 840**

## By Curcio

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend the Columbia Fire Department on the occasion of its 150<sup>th</sup> anniversary.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should join in the celebration of momentous milestones in the storied histories of those venerable organizations that bravely answer the call of duty to serve and protect the citizens of Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, one such invaluable institution is the Columbia Fire Department (CFD), which is celebrating its 150<sup>th</sup> anniversary this year; and

WHEREAS, the CFD organized Fire Company 1 in 1868, under the leadership of Captain Thomas A. Butler; Fire Company 2 was formed in 1870 and led by Captain Edward Kuhn; and

WHEREAS, today, the ninety members of the Columbia Fire Department respond to more than 4,000 emergency calls a year, serving more than 35,500 residents in a thirty-square-mile area. These emergency responses come from five fire stations that house three ladder trucks, three engine companies, one medical rescue unit, two rescue boats, and a swiftwater boat; and

WHEREAS, always serving its community to the full extent of its ability, the CFD received a Class 1 rating from the National Insurance Services Office, the first fire department in Tennessee to do so. This rating incentivizes the recruitment of businesses to Columbia by offering an opportunity for lower insurance rates; and

WHEREAS, the CFD has extinguished a number of historical fires throughout its existence, including the Princess Theatre fire, the Bethel Hotel fire, the jail fire, the Girls School fire, the DuPont fire, and the Mule Barn fire near the train depot; and

WHEREAS, the department is currently led by Fire Chief Tyler "Ty" Cobb, Assistant Fire Chief Kirk Marks, Fire Marshal Anthony Davis, and Assistant Fire Marshal Billy Ring; and

WHEREAS, throughout the department's history, the CFD has been guided by the stalwart and unwavering leadership of its many exemplary fire chiefs, including Fred Latta, Eugene Ritter, William P. Beard, Fred Lane, Polk White, Robert Leon Maddux, Howard Wayne Hickman, Donald R. Martin, Steven E. Cross, Lee Bergeron, and Tommy Hemphill; and

WHEREAS, for a century and a half, the members of the Columbia Fire Department have gallantly answered the call to serve as guardians of the City of Columbia, bravely and capably protecting its citizens; and

WHEREAS, it is most appropriate that this General Assembly should recognize the stalwart members of this invaluable institution, both past and present, as they are a credit not only to the City of Columbia but to the entire State of Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED TENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we honor and commend the Columbia Fire Department on the occasion of its 150<sup>th</sup> anniversary, salute the dedicated service and steadfast bravery of all its members, and extend to each of them our best wishes for every future success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.