<BillNo> <Sponsor>

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 801

By McCalmon

A RESOLUTION relative to securing this nation's borders.

WHEREAS, the security of our nation's borders and the safety of our citizens are paramount to protecting the American way of life; and

WHEREAS, it is essential to the welfare of our nation that illegal immigration cease; and

WHEREAS, the failed policies of the Biden Administration have made every state a border state and have allowed more than ten million illegal immigrants to cross into our country since the President took office; and

WHEREAS, the border problem is the leading cause of the fentanyl crisis, which has caused and continues to cause the deaths of countless victims; and

WHEREAS, the border is a conduit for enabling human trafficking, leading to the rape and death of countless women and children; and

WHEREAS, the federal government has abandoned its duty to secure the U.S. border; and

WHEREAS, Governor Greg Abbott, in spite of opposition from the Biden Administration, has taken the responsibility as the chief executive of the State of Texas for securing the U.S. border and ensuring the safety of not only Texans, but all Americans, and he should be commended for such action; and

WHEREAS, the members of this General Assembly have consistently taken steps to address illegal immigration within the borders of our great State and now wish to urge the federal government to stop illegal immigration by securing our borders; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED THIRTEENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that this General Assembly commends Governor Lee for previous support of securing the Texas border and urges him to send continued support.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this General Assembly urges the federal government to do all within its power to secure the border and protect our country.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that certified copies of this resolution be transmitted to the President of the United States, the U.S. Secretary of Homeland Security, the Governor of the State of Tennessee, the Speaker and the Clerk of the United States House of Representatives, the President and the Secretary of the United States Senate, and each member of the Tennessee Congressional delegation.