<BillNo> <Sponsor>

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 770

By Sargent

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend the Tennessee Soccer Club's U18 girls Showcase team upon winning the USYSA National Championship.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should specially recognize and applaud those successful sports teams that, through their magnificent exploits, bring honor to Tennessee and serve as exceptional ambassadors for this State; and

WHEREAS, one such estimable group of athletes is the Tennessee Soccer Club's (TSC) U18 girls Showcase team, which recently won the United States Youth Soccer Association (USYSA) National Championship; and

WHEREAS, national championships are achieved only through hard work, dedication, and the ability to work together as a team and excel with a cooperative spirit, and the TSC Showcase team exhibited each of these rare qualities during their championship season; and

WHEREAS, traveling to Frisco, Texas, the Showcase team made their way across the bracket until they faced their final opponent, the Avalanche team from Denver, Colorado; and

WHEREAS, with teamwork, perseverance, and sheer athletic ability, the Showcase team was victorious, achieving the national title with a final score of 2-1; and

WHEREAS, in addition to being undefeated in the National League, the TSC's U18 girls Showcase team won the 2017 Tennessee State Championship and the 2017 Southeast Regional Championship, which was achieved by scoring twenty-five goals and giving up only three; and

WHEREAS, the members of this championship team are Maeve Kelly, Julie Garst, Sydney Malham, Madison Smith, Addison Puskar, Savannah Hill, Sarah Sievertsen, Abigail Nipp, Chloe Tremblay, Wrenne French, Tally Bishop, Katy Stumb, Elizabeth Tank, Peyton DePriest, Jennifer Jestings, Blare Gerido, Elizabeth Parker, Grace Parsons, Lindsey Breskow, Leslie Frye, Shelby Hash, Harper White, and Karlie Paschall; and

WHEREAS, this team undoubtedly benefited from the knowledge, leadership, and support of their coach, Kyle Roelke; their team managers, Kaz Miller and David DePriest; and the TSC executive director, Stuart Brown; and

WHEREAS, in recognition of his expert coaching ability, Kyle Roelke was named the 2017 Tennessee State Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, these young women epitomize all that is good in today's student athletes, as they have achieved the highest level of success and shown the highest degree of character both in and out of the athletic arena; and

WHEREAS, we find it appropriate to acknowledge and applaud the TSC's U18 girls Showcase team for serving as examples of the high quality of the youth of Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED TENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we hereby honor and commend the Tennessee Soccer Club's U18 girls Showcase team upon winning the USYSA National Championship, applaud the team's collective athletic prowess, and extend to each player our best wishes for every future success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.