HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 690

By Reedy

A RESOLUTION to honor the memories of Chief Warrant Officer 3
Stephen R. Dwyer, Chief Warrant Officer 2
Shane M. Barnes, Staff Sergeant Tanner W.
Grone, Sergeant Andrew P. Southard, and
Sergeant Cade M. Wolfe of the U.S. Army's
160th Special Operations Aviation Regiment.

WHEREAS, our nation was conceived by individuals who were willing to sacrifice their personal safety and concerns to ensure our individual and collective freedom, and the Volunteer State is especially appreciative of those valiant men and women who have performed above and beyond the call of duty; and

WHEREAS, we wish to honor five brave and honorable members of the U.S. Army's 160th Special Operations Aviation Regiment (Airborne), who lost their lives on Veterans Day while serving our nation: Chief Warrant Officer 3 Stephen R. Dwyer of Clarksville; Chief Warrant Officer 2 Shane M. Barnes of Sacramento, California; Staff Sergeant Tanner W. Grone of Gorham, New Hampshire; Sergeant Andrew P. Southard of Apache Junction, Arizona; and Sergeant Cade M. Wolfe of Mankato, Minnesota; and

WHEREAS, based at Fort Campbell, Kentucky, the 160th Special Operations Aviation Regiment (Airborne), also known as the Night Stalkers, is the nation's premier aviation unit, providing highly specialized aviation capabilities and support in the most challenging environments around the globe for elite special operations forces engaged in no-fail missions; and

WHEREAS, these five heroic Night Stalkers made the ultimate sacrifice for their country on November 11, 2023, during a routine air refueling mission as part of military training over the Mediterranean Sea; and

WHEREAS, their dedication to excellence in the military and their love of family, their fellow soldiers, and their country are exemplified in their sacrifice of life itself in defense of all that they held dear and stand as enduring examples of the characteristics that have ensured the

continued freedom of our nation and the preservation of its ideals over the course of our history; and

WHEREAS, these valiant Americans leave behind an indelible legacy of integrity and probity in public life, compassion and loyalty in private life, and diligence and dedication in all their chosen endeavors; and

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should pause to remember the singular patriotism, courage, and commitment to duty of the late Chief Warrant Officer 3 Stephen R. Dwyer, Chief Warrant Officer 2 Shane M. Barnes, Staff Sergeant Tanner W. Grone, Sergeant Andrew P. Southard, and Sergeant Cade M. Wolfe, whose deaths are mourned by a grateful nation; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED THIRTEENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we honor the memory of Chief Warrant Officer 3 Stephen R. Dwyer, Chief Warrant Officer 2 Shane M. Barnes, Staff Sergeant Tanner W. Grone, Sergeant Andrew P. Southard, and Sergeant Cade M. Wolfe of the U.S. Army's 160th Special Operations Aviation Regiment (Airborne), five men of impeccable character and limitless courage who stalwartly committed themselves to the defense of their nation.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.

- 2 - 010593