HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 658

By Johnson G

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend the members and coaches of the Fulton High School boys' basketball team upon winning the TSSAA Division I, Class 3A state championship.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that we should salute those student athletes who, through their extraordinary efforts, have distinguished themselves as true champions of whom we can all be proud; and

WHEREAS, one such exemplary group of young athletes is the Fulton High School boys' basketball team, whose members have all proven themselves to be the fiercest of competitors and truly worthy of admiration by winning the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association (TSSAA) Division I, Class 3A state championship; and

WHEREAS, capturing the program's fourth state title and the first since 2016, Fulton

High School defeated Haywood High School by a score of 82-52 in the championship game

held in Murfreesboro at the Murphy Center on the campus of Middle Tennessee State University

on March 18, 2023; and

WHEREAS, in their tremendous victory, the young men from Fulton High shot 64.8% for the game and went eight out of fourteen from the three-point line to defeat the Haywood Tomcats in the title game; and

WHEREAS, the Falcons finished the season with an overall record of 32-5, having soared through the state tournament with wins over Volunteer High School (69-55) and Martin Luther King High School (72-32) on their march to the championship game; and

WHEREAS, Fulton High was led by tournament MVP Tyler Lee, who was joined on the all-tournament team by teammates Taj Kimber, Denaj Kimber, and Marcellus Jackson; and

WHEREAS, in addition to adding the state championship gold ball to their trophy case in 2023, the Falcons also won the district championship and the region championship during their exceptional season; and

WHEREAS, the members of the state champion Fulton High School boys' basketball team include Derrick Smith, Denaj Kimber, Travis Ballenger, Marcellus Jackson, Dexter Lewis, Taj Kimber, Jordan Wrancher, Travis Turner, Tavon Baptiste, Dexter Moulden, Jaellip Linzy, and Tyler Lee; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Fulton High School boys' basketball team enjoyed the stellar leadership and extensive basketball knowledge of Head Coach Jody Wright and assistant coaches Jonathan Cox, Adrian Wannamaker, Jerel Hayward, and Jordan Shipley; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Fulton High School boys' basketball team epitomize all that is good in today's student athletes, as they have achieved a premier level of success in competition while exhibiting the highest degree of character in all aspects of life; and

WHEREAS, the perseverance, determination, work ethic, and talent of this group of young men not only made possible a championship season but also surely bode well for their future success; and

WHEREAS, we find it appropriate to acknowledge and applaud the members of the Fulton High School boys' basketball team for serving as exemplars of the high quality of the youth of Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED THIRTEENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we hereby honor and commend the members and coaches of the Fulton High School boys' basketball team upon winning the TSSAA Division I, Class 3A state championship and extend to them our best wishes for every continued success in all their future endeavors.

- 2 - 006964

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy and upon proper request made to the appropriate clerk, the language appearing immediately following the State seal appear without House or Senate designation.

- 3 - 006964