## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 650

## By Haynes

## A RESOLUTION to honor and congratulate the Farragut High School boys' soccer team on winning the 2009 TSSAA Class AAA State Soccer Championship.

WHEREAS, this General Assembly is pleased to specially honor and commend those successful high school athletic teams that, through their magnificent exploits, bring honor to Tennessee and serve as exceptional ambassadors of this State

WHEREAS, the Farragut High School boys' soccer team achieved an extraordinary level of success during the 2009 season, establishing an impressive record of twenty-three wins against two losses and two ties on the road to winning the TSSAA Class AAA State Championship; and

WHEREAS, such success in a team sport is achieved only through hard work, dedication, and the ability to work together and excel as a team; Farragut players consistently exhibited these qualities throughout their championship season; and

WHEREAS, on May 23, 2009, in a two-to-nothing victory over Brentwood High School, the Farragut boys earned their fourth state championship title in a decade; and

WHEREAS, based on the quality of Farragut's junior boys, the team will almost certainly enjoy another remarkable season in 2010; two of those juniors, Brandon Klarner and Ryan Stinton, scored the two early goals that gave Farragut, which fields one of the best defenses in the state, the lead that ultimately proved insurmountable for the Brentwood team; and

WHEREAS, from the start of its 2009 season to the moment it won the championship, the Farragut High School boys' soccer team has benefitted from the steady leadership of its Head Coach Wallie Culbreth; his Assistant Coaches are Kurt Backstrom and Bradley Culbreth; and WHEREAS, senior players on the Farragut team are Shea Beltran, Kellen Catani, Will Dallery, Trevor Grieco, John Jester, Angus MacLellan, Adam Prosise, Ian Templeton, and Manager Zach Warnock; and

WHEREAS, the team's juniors include Christian Bahati, Miles Bergin, Sam Eddy, Andrew Hale, Wesley Hill, Marshall Ishmael, David Jordan, Mr. Klarner, Steven Matlock, Wayman McLaughlin, Anthony Moore, Nick Muth, Nick Peterson, Carlos Ramos, Kendric Schuettler, Mr. Stinton, and Nathan Storms; and

WHEREAS, the rest of the roster includes sophomores Nick Agentis, Logan Heidinger, Paul Neuefeind, Andy Quist, Dustin Rainey, and Nick Russell; and freshmen Zach Darby, Scott Dresen, Keenan Flynn, Dillon Landguth, Connor Martens, Tyler Rhone, Zach Snow, Tanner Sparkman, and Brad Timmis; and

WHEREAS, the Farragut High School boys' soccer team epitomize all that is good in today's student-athlete, as they have achieved the highest level of success in their sport while demonstrating impeccable character both on and off the field; they inspired the school's student body and united the entire community during their triumphal 2009 season; and

WHEREAS, the dedication, determination, work ethic, and talent of this group of young men not only made possible a championship soccer season, but also surely bode well for their success in every future endeavor; and

WHEREAS, the State of Tennessee takes great pride in the tremendous accomplishments of those student athletes who have excelled in their sport and in the classroom as well; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED SIXTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we hereby honor and congratulate Head Coach Wallie Culbreth, along with his able assistants, and all the players of the Farragut High School boys' soccer team on winning the 2009 TSSAA Class AAA State Soccer Championship and wish them every success in their future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.

- 2 -

00939051