<BillNo> <Sponsor>

## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 437**

## By Cepicky

A RESOLUTION to honor and congratulate the Columbia

Academy boys' basketball team on winning the
TSSAA Division I Class A State Championship.

WHEREAS, the members of this General Assembly are pleased to recognize a team of remarkable young men who selflessly united behind "One Goal" to attain the very pinnacle of Tennessee high school basketball; and

WHEREAS, the members of the 2018-2019 Columbia Academy boys' basketball team elevated themselves to elite status by posting an overall record of 31-5 and winning their school's first ever State Championship in the sport; and

WHEREAS, the third time was indeed the charm, as the Bulldogs made consecutive Class A State Tournament appearances in 2017 and 2018 before claiming the title this year; and

WHEREAS, Columbia Academy lost the final regular season game of the year before reeling off ten consecutive postseason victories, winning district and regional tournament titles before avenging last year's State semifinal loss with an impressive victory over Loretto in the sectional round; and

WHEREAS, in the Class A State Tournament, the Bulldogs destroyed Manassas and throttled Eagleville to reach the finals; and

WHEREAS, Columbia Academy then bested Humboldt by sixteen points courtesy of 10-12 shooting from behind the three-point arc to take the State Championship crown; and

WHEREAS, their path to greatness was a very difficult one; ranked 5<sup>th</sup> in the final Associated Press Class A statewide poll, the Bulldogs defeated three of the four teams ranked

ahead of them to win it all, beating No. 1 Eagleville in the State semifinals, No. 2 Humboldt in the State finals, and No. 4 Loretto in the sectional round; and

WHEREAS, eight Columbia Academy seniors were overjoyed to finally achieve their "One Goal" of a State Championship during their third consecutive run at the title; Carson Cary, Sky Polk, Eli Hyle, Tyler Smelser, and Copeland Esslinger comprised the Bulldog starting five, while Andrew Logsdon, Rush Lansdell, and Davis Cofer came off the bench; and

WHEREAS, the other members of the Columbia Academy team are juniors Lucas Smith, Gary Smith, Jr., Caleb Cook, and Paxton Powell; sophomores Tanner Ham, Hayden Morgan, and Chase Duncan; and freshman Drew Butt; and

WHEREAS, Carson Cary was named Most Valuable Player of the 2019 Class A State Tournament, and Sky Polk and Gary Smith, Jr., joined him as members of the All-Tournament team; and

WHEREAS, Carson Cary was also named Senior of the Year and First Team All-State by Tennessee Prep Hoops, while Eli Hyle was a Second Team All-State selection; and

WHEREAS, this season's State Championship was especially sweet for Coach Marty DeJarnette who had guided Columbia Academy to five state tourney berths prior to this year, including the 1997 State finals in his first year as head coach; and

WHEREAS, the Columbia Academy Bulldogs made history in Tennessee high school basketball this season, and they should be commended as they hoist their State Championship banner; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED ELEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we honor and congratulate Coach Marty DeJarnette and the Columbia Academy boys' basketball team on winning the 2019 TSSAA Division I Class A State Championship and extend to them our best wishes for much continued success next season.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.