## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 172**

## By Harrison

A RESOLUTION to honor and commend the 2012 Rogersville
Middle School football team upon winning the
Big Three Conference Championship.

WHEREAS, it is fitting that the members of this General Assembly should salute those student athletes who, through their extraordinary efforts, have distinguished themselves as true sportsmen of whom all can be proud; and

WHEREAS, the members of the 2012 Rogersville Middle School football team have proven themselves to be the ablest of competitors and, as such, deserving of the highest regard; and

WHEREAS, under the astute leadership of Head Coach Steve Taylor and assistant coaches Jeremy Bailey, Josh Kincannon, and Brian Trent, the 2012 team propelled itself to a 7-2 record in the regular season; and

WHEREAS, the team, representing AAA county schools from Sullivan, Washington, and Hawkins counties, secured the Big Three Conference Championship win over Gray Middle School by a score of 34-22; and

WHEREAS, enjoying the support of Director of Schools Charlotte Britton, Assistant

Director Steve Starnes, Principal Jim Ailshie, and Assistant Principal Greg Simpson, Rogersville

Middle School's impressive victory marks the school's first conference football championship in

ten years; and

WHEREAS, the stellar character of the players was exemplified over the course of the season; in nine games, not one player was charged with a personal foul or an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty; and

WHEREAS, this championship team was led by eighth graders Kirk Berry, Jeremiah Bragg, Holden Mayes, Tommy Smith, Skylar Southerland, Matthew Johnson, Brandon Cavin,

Nick Henard, Noah Isom, Nathan Smith, Jordan Pabian, Jace Davis, Angus Kneschke, Josh Thacker, Kordell Burton, Emmanuel Tipton, and Lucas Mayes; and

WHEREAS, the team includes seventh graders Austin Russell, Joseph Goins, Nick
Taylor, Landon Haun, Dawson Braford, Jacob Helton, Jayden Goins, Logan Heck, and Mason
McDougal; and

WHEREAS, the team also includes sixth graders Isaiah Bragg, Graham Solomon, Evan Andrews, Chevy Courtney, Randy Wilson, and Peyton Buttry; and

WHEREAS, the Rogersville Middle School football team has displayed the tenacity, camaraderie, and skill befitting one of the State's finest athletic teams; and

WHEREAS, this General Assembly finds it appropriate to pause in its deliberations to acknowledge and applaud the 2012 Rogersville Middle School football team, not only for the team's championship win, but for the players' superior sportsmanship and the joy they have brought to their fellow students and the people of Tennessee; now, therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, THE SENATE CONCURRING, that we hereby honor and congratulate the members of the 2012 Rogersville Middle School football team for their heralded success on the gridiron and extend to them our best wishes for future success.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that an appropriate copy of this resolution be prepared for presentation with this final clause omitted from such copy.